Search
Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Newbie Here

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-12, 07:51 AM

Bikes: 1992 Serotta Colorado II,Co-Motion Speedster, Giant Escape Hybrid, 1977 Schwinn Super Le Tour

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked 112 Times in 85 Posts
Newbie Here

Though I have been back into cycling for 5 years with last year and this being the most active I have a few questions and need some advice.
This year I have ridden about 7000 miles. My wife and I tour and I do a lot of none touring miles. But the long distances rides are starting to get my interest.
So my questions are what are some ideas for training in order to do the longer distances? Also now that the weather is really changing what is a good routine on a trainer? BTW as for a trainer I have a Cyclops and justrecently saw some Spinervals videos. Good idea?
As for my bike. I just built up a '92 Serotta Colorado ll with Campy on it. I ride with a Brooks saddle.
Also signed up for the Ohio Randoneering newsletter.
Thanks!
Old 12-19-12, 09:35 AM
Upgrading my engine

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think you'll find some relevant information in this recent thread. I would give you similar advice. Focus on one long ride per week and use the rest of the week for recovery and shorter, more intense rides. I know the weather sucks in OH this time of year, but try to get out there at least once a week. A cross bike or a mountain bike can be a good change of pace this time of year.