Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Shipping a bicycle?

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Shipping a bicycle?

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-13, 11:04 PM

Bikes: Specialized Cross trails and Surly Long Haul Trucker

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shipping a bicycle?

I am relatively new to the touring lifestyle, and I have never had to ship a bike to a start location before(Pennsylvania to Vancouver). I am wondering which is the easiest or cheapest option? Does anyone know much about just dissembling some parts of it and checking it on the airline?
Old 01-06-13, 11:20 PM

Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked 833 Times in 435 Posts
Hi James,

Welcome! Why don't you try a search in this form for bike boxes, shipping etc. I think there has been a lot of discussion on the topic.
Old 01-07-13, 12:03 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Doug64
Hi James,

Welcome! Why don't you try a search in this form for bike boxes, shipping etc. I think there has been a lot of discussion on the topic.
I have tried searching around a bit, unfortunately I'm not coming up with much. I may be using the wrong keywords.

-edit: ah there we go, got the advanced search to work. Thanks!
Old 01-07-13, 12:10 AM
In Real Life

Bikes: Lots

Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Quoted: 3203 Post(s)
Liked 596 Times in 329 Posts
I did a search using the world airline, and this is one of many posts that appeared:

https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread...hlight=airline

Here's another one:

https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread...hlight=airline

Last edited by Machka; 01-07-13 at 12:17 AM.
Old 01-07-13, 12:25 AM

James, take a look at these.

https://www.bikeforums.net/showthread...a-touring-bike