Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling
Reload this Page >

I'm a newbie to distance riding and am looking for general advice!

Search
Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-13, 03:47 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello!

I'm just getting into distance riding (60-100 mile rides). I find that often when I ride, I go fairly fast and comfortably for a bit, then all of a sudden it is like I hit a wall. My legs are cramping, and I just feel exhausted and uncomfortable, and for the remainder of the ride I am pretty much shot.

Any idea why this happens? Maybe I am just not in good enough shape, but I'm wondering if it has something to do with my blood sugar or something? How much should I be eating during a ride? And what is the deal with lactic acid building up in muscles? Is that actually something that is common? I've read about it but it is hard to say if that is what is going on with my legs.

I bet I sound like a total noob, but aside from biking recently, I have never done any sports or anything.

I've done some google searches for my questions, and I have gotten some good information but I was hoping some folks here could give their thoughts too.

Thanks!
Old 07-13-13, 06:06 PM

Bikes: Elephant Bikes National Forest Explorer, Bike Friday Pocket Rocket

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked 230 Times in 82 Posts
You're probably not eating enough. Start eating an hour into the ride and aim for 200-300 kcal per hour. These calories can come from both food and drinks.