Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Newbie biker not by choice

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-13, 01:11 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello Everyone,

I'm in US from last 3 years on work visa. Although, my employer has filed for visa extension but due to an expired visa in hand, I can' drive my car. So I expect to get an extension possibly in a month or two. This forced me to look out for alternatives and the idea of riding a bike clicked for my commute, dropping off my daughter to school and other chores.

I am not a professional rider and started doing some research on the internet about bikes. So I like to take the privilege to ask you all professional and expert riders to suggest some useful tips for me to start with.

Facts:
I'm in Atlanta, GA. 5'10'' tall. My budget is approx. 500USD.

Thanks for your help.

Sam
Old 09-14-13, 01:35 PM
covered in cat fur

Bikes: Papillionaire Sommer, '85 Schwinn World Tourist, 2014 Windsor Kensington 8, SixThreeZero SS Cruiser

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Craigslist will be your friend. Really, just look for something cheap that looks like it has been well stored and taken care of.

Kids bikes are dirt cheap new or used. You could ride with her if she's too young to take herself. Anything else will get pricey fast.

You'll want a rack (they're about 20 bucks) and some baskets or bags to put on it.

Who knows, you may just like it.
Old 09-14-13, 06:28 PM
Pedaled too far.

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I agree with katsrevenge that for your situation, Craigslist may be the way to go.