Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electric Bikes
Reload this Page >

Looking for Suggestions

Search
Notices
Electric Bikes Here's a place to discuss ebikes, from home grown to high-tech.

Looking for Suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-14, 01:00 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Looking for Suggestions

Hi! I'm new to ebiking, and biking in general really. But I'm wanting to get into it. I'm actually looking to get an ebike because I plan on becoming a world traveler when I turn 21, and wanted some sort of vehicle so I wouldn't have to rely on hitch hiking. I figured an ebike would be perfect, since I wouldn't have to pay for insurance or anything like that, can recharge it pretty much anywhere, and can pedal it if I'm unable to recharge it for some reason.

So, I'll need a bike to suit my journeys. It will have to be durable, able to handle a good bit of abuse and withstand a variety of climates. It'll need to be able to carry about the weight of two grown men, to accommodate myself and my supplies (and have a bit of endurance to spare.) I will need racks to attach my bags of supplies, or at least a frame that could securely accommodate racks I could put on myself. I would obviously like it to be as strong and fast as possible, although I understand that the law limits it to 20 MPH. Since opportunities to recharge my be far between, I would like a high charge capacity. A bike with relatively easy maintenance and repair would be mighty helpful as well.

Hm...the only other feature I could think of would be a left handed throttle instead of right, although this is just a very minor preference, at the absolute bottom of my list of needs out of this bike.

This may be a tall order for a single machine, but I believe in asking for exactly what you want and lowering your expectations bit by bit, until you find the possible. So, any suggestions?
Old 02-28-14, 06:40 PM
Transportation Cyclist