Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Brand new to mountain biking - Advice needed!

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-14, 12:19 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey all,

I'm currently living in Whistler, BC, Canada. I have just finished off the winter season of snowboarding and now the place is transforming into a mountain biking meka. I haven't ridden bike's since I was a kid, but this place is fanatical about it. From what I know, which is very limited, there is a lot of wicked trails and some of the best down hilling in the world here. I am looking at getting into it, however I have no idea where to start.

As it's my first time I don't want to rush out there and buy a hugely expensive bike, I also don't know if I want to line myself up with a guaranteed injury straight away. I think my plan at this stage is to just focus on the valley trails, with a cross country/all mountain style bike. I think maybe during the season I will look at doing some down hilling, but if required I will hire a proper bike and give it a go.

I know the sport is an expensive one, however I'm really hoping I can find an entry level bike for somewhere between $500-$1000 that will serve the purpose I'm looking for. After this season I think I'll really be able to decide whether I want to step it up a gear and fork out some proper cash.

I would love you guys to advise me on anything you know about Whistler biking, what kind of bikes I should be looking at etc etc. Any help is appreciated!

Cheers
Old 04-26-14, 04:30 PM
we be rollin'

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 24 Posts