Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Why use a 4 bar rear suspension link?

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-02, 06:01 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi

Why are 4 bar rear suspension used over a more simple design, ie the shock mounted directly from the frame to rear set?

Many thanks
Old 04-03-02, 09:04 AM
cycle-powered

Bikes: '02 Specialized FSR, '03 RM Slayer, '99 Raleigh R700, '97 Norco hartail, '89 Stumpjumper

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
well, i'm not an expert on this, but as far as i understand the mechanics and from test-riding the difference is that most of the 'simple' designs do give you the positives of suspension for bumps and stuff, but also have a lot of negatives like moving when you pedal and other stuff --- i.e. the suspension takes power away from you as you compress and uncompress the suspension resulting in a 'bob' which is annoying as well as inefficient.

the 4-bar minimizes this to a great extent -- if you have a good circular stroke there is almost no movement in the suspension on a flat section (my Specialized FSR XC for example)

all of the single bar-suspension bikes i've seen bounce and bob like mad which really sucks when climbing or on a flat.

if all you do is downhill or free-ride it doesn't make much difference, but for xc or climbing or all-round, i would definitely NOT buy anything but a 4-bar or hard-tail.