Cycling and bicycle discussion forums. 
   Click here to join our community Log in to access your Control Panel  


Go Back   > >

Track Cycling: Velodrome Racing and Training Area Looking to enter into the realm of track racing? Want to share your experiences and tactics for riding on a velodrome? The Track Cycling forums is for you! Come in and discuss training/racing, equipment, and current track cycling events.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-30-14, 12:47 AM   #51
carleton
Elitist
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Bikes:
Posts: 13,251
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trackliche View Post
How about plotting/viewing three variables at once? I'd like to see speed, time, and distance all displayed. I want to analyze 200m approaches, jumps, speeds, and fades. Tough to get accurate information when I'm jumping back and forth between "Time" and "Distance" Performance charts.

-TC
I think I know what you are after. You want to know your speeds at certain markers on the track. The best way to do it is:

1: Note what kind of track you are riding (250 vs 333 style).
2: Note that your speed goes up in the middle of the turns. So, for a F200M on a 250M track, you'll see 2 speed spikes: One at the 200M start line in turns 1-2 (your fastest of the event) and one in turns 3-4. If you are on a 333M track, you'll have 1 speed spike that happens in turns 3-4.
3: Take relative measurements from those markers. On a 250M track, roughly 12" after that first speed spike is your entire 200M. On a 333M track, 6" before and 6" after that speed spike is your 200M event.

You can do the same as above and work backwards and see your speeds during the windup. You can spot your jump out of the saddle when your speed goes from steady-ish increase to spiking sharply.

Here's an example of a F200M on a 250M track using SRM software for analysis:



Purple: Speed
Cadence: Blue
Power: Green

Note the 12" interval that was sectioned off after the event. He starts it at the top speed and ends 12" later.

We have the benefit of seeing the green power spike when he launched his attack. But, even if we didn't, we can see his speed dramatically increase at the same moment. So, we don't need power to see when the "jump" takes place.

Last edited by carleton; 04-30-14 at 12:52 AM.
carleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-14, 12:51 AM   #52
carleton
Elitist
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Bikes:
Posts: 13,251
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
BTW, setting markers for intervals is tough in Golden Cheetah. There is no way to nudge them forward or backwards 1 second at a time. It's designed to section off long efforts like road rides or road TTs

But you can use your cursor to travel along the line to see that data points.
carleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-14, 12:16 PM   #53
Trackliche
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Bikes:
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by carleton View Post
I think I know what you are after. You want to know your speeds at certain markers on the track. The best way to do it is:

1: Note what kind of track you are riding (250 vs 333 style).
2: Note that your speed goes up in the middle of the turns. So, for a F200M on a 250M track, you'll see 2 speed spikes: One at the 200M start line in turns 1-2 (your fastest of the event) and one in turns 3-4. If you are on a 333M track, you'll have 1 speed spike that happens in turns 3-4.
3: Take relative measurements from those markers. On a 250M track, roughly 12" after that first speed spike is your entire 200M. On a 333M track, 6" before and 6" after that speed spike is your 200M event.

You can do the same as above and work backwards and see your speeds during the windup. You can spot your jump out of the saddle when your speed goes from steady-ish increase to spiking sharply.

Here's an example of a F200M on a 250M track using SRM software for analysis:





Purple: Speed
Cadence: Blue
Power: Green

Note the 12" interval that was sectioned off after the event. He starts it at the top speed and ends 12" later.

We have the benefit of seeing the green power spike when he launched his attack. But, even if we didn't, we can see his speed dramatically increase at the same moment. So, we don't need power to see when the "jump" takes place.

Thanks for explaining it. That's exactly what I'm doing now. It's fine, but I'm spoiled seeing the SRM and TP screenshots you guys put up. I want to eat my cake without paying for it.

-TC
Trackliche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-14, 12:19 PM   #54
carleton
Elitist
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Bikes:
Posts: 13,251
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trackliche View Post
Thanks for explaining it. That's exactly what I'm doing now. It's fine, but I'm spoiled seeing the SRM and TP screenshots you guys put up. I want to eat my cake without paying for it.

-TC
Well, that's not my SRM graph. That's from former UCI Pro Giovanni Rey I swiped it from his blog: Free Rolling
carleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-14, 10:50 PM   #55
Quinn8it
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Quinn8it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hollywood
Bikes: Bianchi Pista, Bianchi Vigorelli
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
is there a "Fix Spikes in Speed" function?
i see it for Power and Heart Rate..
Quinn8it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-14, 10:58 PM   #56
carleton
Elitist
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Bikes:
Posts: 13,251
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quinn8it View Post
is there a "Fix Spikes in Speed" function?
i see it for Power and Heart Rate..
Just go to the "Edit" tab and find the spike and manually adjust it. It's just column/row spreadsheet of all of the data. It's easier if you select the interval where the spike exists because that interval will also be selected when you go to the Edit tab.

When I have spikes I just assign a value that is the average of the values right before and right after the erroneous one.

Beware of "fix spikes" functions in general because it may assume that your standing start is a "spike" and smooth the numbers out.
carleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-14, 11:52 PM   #57
Quinn8it
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Quinn8it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hollywood
Bikes: Bianchi Pista, Bianchi Vigorelli
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Dude! You are the man!
trying to figure that out all night!!
Quinn8it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 PM.