Cycling and bicycle discussion forums. 
   Click here to join our community Log in to access your Control Panel  


Go Back   > >

Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-07, 11:27 AM   #1
MarinRodie
Member
Thread Starter
 
MarinRodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Bikes:
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Polar F6

Ok i got my coach thing going, and i got a polar F6 hrm. I was courios if any one else traines with one here and if so how do ya track your time in your zones. He has me using training peaks and they don't download for the F6. Any way he wants me to put in my time in zones on the spreadsheet> I set up my zones manually
but i need the break down for time spent in each zone. Say I warm up in zone one and then need to go for 40 mins at zone 4 do i just restart it and record it that way. Or should i set my zones on the hrm for each workout befroe i start out and track it that way. If any one has a F6 they would be a great help. Or if you use any thing that is not a Real high dollar HRM I sure you can help too!!! Thanks for the help.
MarinRodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-07, 12:57 AM   #2
craigdurkee
Senior Member
 
craigdurkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: melbourne
Bikes: gaint crx 2 2007
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i have an s520 and you can set 6 different excersie groups, each with presettable zones, cant yours do that.

Might be worth upgrading.

Polar are great though, do you find it measures good or does electricity cause it probs, as we have trams here in melbourne some times it spikes
craigdurkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-07, 10:09 AM   #3
MarinRodie
Member
Thread Starter
 
MarinRodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Bikes:
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Sometimes when i first start out it gets messed up fro the static electricty in my jersey, but i found out yesterday i just squirt i little h2o on the front of the trasmitter and problem solved. As far a upgrading I just bought it a month ago. I don't think the ol lady would go for it. Keep the ideas coming!!!!
MarinRodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-07, 11:54 AM   #4
Carbonfiberboy 
just another gosling
 
Carbonfiberboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Everett, WA
Bikes: CoMo Speedster 2003, Trek 5200, CAAD 9, Fred 2004
Posts: 11,637
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
I use a Polar 720i and the Polar software that came with it shows time in HR zones very nicely. The zones are user programmable in the software. I see that you can download your workouts to the Polar website with your F6. Doesn't the Polar website offer software analysis of the workout?
Carbonfiberboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-07, 05:05 PM   #5
MarinRodie
Member
Thread Starter
 
MarinRodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Bikes:
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbonfiberboy
I use a Polar 720i and the Polar software that came with it shows time in HR zones very nicely. The zones are user programmable in the software. I see that you can download your workouts to the Polar website with your F6. Doesn't the Polar website offer software analysis of the workout?
Yes they have the software. However my coach has me using training peaks and the software won't work between the two site i guess. He said he sent them a e-mail on how to get hr numbers for his athleats and they said it won't work. Don't ask me about the details I have no idea. After all I'm trying to get a F6 to work so I can get him the right duration in my zones. If this helps he has me set up in zones like this.

Level 1 Active Recovery <142
Level 2 Endurance 143-155
Level 3 Tempo 156-162
4 Subthreshold 163-173
5a Superthreshold 174-177
5b Aerobic Capacity 178-183
5c Anaerobic Capacity 184+
Keep the ideas coming plz!!!!
MarinRodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-07, 06:13 PM   #6
sswartzl
Member
 
sswartzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Bikes: GT Palomar, Trek 7500, Trek Navigator 300
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have a Polar F6. I got it in late 2005, so yours might be a bit different, but I don't see a way to track time in multiple manually-defined zones during a single session. It lets you set a target zone manually, so you can track how much time you spent in that zone during one session. The closest thing I see is that you can go to File, Diary, HR Zones, and it will show you the weekly totals for time spent in each of the three pre-defined zones, but those probably only have meaning if you use the "Automatic" or "Ownzone" options, not manual.

I think what you'll have to do is set the zone manually for whatever range you're targeting and start recording. When you want to change zones, stop the recording, reset the manual zone, start recording again, etc. Each such recording session will be stored as a separate exercise in the "File" section that will give you the time in zone for each of them. It will store the last 12 exercises.

If you're looking to exercise for a specific amount of time in a given zone, the unit will show you the time you've been in the target zone while you're still riding.

If you want to set a bunch of zones manually, start the monitor, stop when you're done, and then read off the time spent in each zone, you'll have to upgrade.
sswartzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:33 PM.