scozim 
Ellensburg, WA

Bikes: See my signature

Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by tip View Post
Thanks for the replies, looks like I'm definitely going to hold out for something else. I saw other people who have converted their old MTB's but they must have started with a much better platform.

Sorry, I should have been more specific. The 500-600 is for the bike + any upgrades it will need. I have all the camping, clothing and other gear already.

I am definitely going to look into this. While not proficient in bikes, I am an auto tech by trade so at least I know how to turn a wrench!

Again, I really appreciate the kind replies... Noobs are chastised quite a bit more on other forums I frequent
Really depends Chances are if you buy a used touring set up you'll still want to look at having it gone through - by yourself or a shop. I was in the same situation with you but with a large family and limited budget I decided to take the "use what I have approach".

I started with a 800 Antelope similar to yours but a little older. Paid $20 for the bike from a customer as it sat in their garage on flat tires. This past summer I paid $50 for a parts haul from a former bike shop owner. Included in that were the drop bars and Suntour bar end shifters. Brakes were a trade from a member of the C&V forum. Rear derailleur was donated by Chris in Miami. Pedals were $4 from a shop in Seattle. The cables, housing and bar tape were new - approximately $20. Finally the new Sugino 26t chainring was $18.

For panniers and racks, I had one but bought a Blackburn MTB rear rack at a garage for $2. I then located a front rack and set of four panniers off Craigslist for $65 and then added a handlebar bag and second front rack from Craigslist for $35. Tires were $30.