Old 07-18-11, 03:29 PM
Psimet2001 
I eat carbide.

Bikes: Lots. Van Dessel and Squid Dealer

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1325 Post(s)
Liked 1,306 Times in 560 Posts
OP - take everything here with a grain of salt....

Let me share my take - a bit of background first: I am a professional career cat 4 Racer. I frequently go off the back of most heavy crits just so I can indulge in my favorite pastime - yelling at other slow guys.

In reality - I have spent my fair share of time in the pack lapping riders as well as being lapped. If you were riding with me I would have yelled at you that we were getting lapped as well - this is why:

1. When off the back - be AWARE of where the field is. This isn't a tiathlon and you're not going to set a "PR" or fight so that you are 51st instead of 52nd in the results. You are off the back. Your race is over. Race heads up and you might be allowed to actually ride on the course for the rest of the race and not cause any problems.
2. When you come off the back the amount of time it takes the field to come up on you decreases as the race continues. You tire even more and their speed increases. So while it may have taken them 10 laps to lap you the first time they might be back around in 5 this next time.
3. When it's been a while start taking a quick look over your shoulder at the end of a long straight before you corner. If you don't see the leaders or a pace car then race the next section like you normally would. If you see the leaders or the pace car then start thinking right then where you need to make sure you are when they pass. The idea is to GTFO of the way. You have no business being anywhere near where the race is occurring at this point. This can even mean you STOP in a spot that is completely out of the way if you realize that failing to do so will result in you being passed in a tight section.