Old 08-15-12, 01:44 PM
pacificcyclist

Bikes: 2012 Masi Speciale CX : 2013 Ghost 29er EBS

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Micheal Blue
Thanks, Pacificcyclist, for the interesting info. I can clearly understand this applying to suspension shocks on MTBs, but not as clearly when talking about a block of elastomer doing the work. Jiggling a dense plump of jello should soak up even higher frequency vibrations better than big gas shocks, no? They use some kind of rubber (or whatever) blocks on submarines to dampen vibrations from machinery (that would be high frequency?) and other sources. Well, I'm no engineer.

I've never been to Yukon. I'm reasonably aware of the limitations of small wheels (my folder is 20"), so I wound't try to ride on too remote roads. The map shows enough of main roads that perhaps could be no worse than many of our roads in Toronto (many of our roads here are quite bad).

The folder I will buy has to handle commuting duties, as well. That includes multi-modal commuting, especially in winter. I'd love to buy a Pocket Llama or a NWT, but they would be very difficult to handle/carry folded.

It's an irony that my Dahon is the best compromise in this respect - a jack of all trades (though master of none).
Unfortunately, my trust in its service evaporated when the steerer tube broke during a ride and sent me sniffing
grass in a ditch (fortunately at a very low speed so nothing happened).