Old 01-04-14, 10:04 PM
mikemowbz

Bikes: Are several.

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 75 Times in 21 Posts
Originally Posted by seedsbelize
Anxiously awaiting your thoughts on the breakaway. I've been thinking of getting one myself. Vacillating between that and s and s couplers.
Were you thinking of getting the Road or Cross model? Being used to riding fairly racy 80s road bikes almost exclusively, I'm perhaps preoccupied in my first impressions with some of the 'cross' characteristics (and should also note that I have no S&S experience upon which to base comparison there)...

I've only had the chance to ride it on the short jaunt pictured in this thread (where it did very decently over some varied terrain) and for 6 or 10 miles of pavement back here in Vancouver yesterday. The main triangle is constructed with quite a light gauge tubing, whereas the stays are quite beefy (not in terms of diameter, but solid); I was relieved, as a big guy at 6'2 1/2" and over 250lbs, to find that it hasn't so far given the impression of being inordinately flexy.