Bike Butcher of Portland

Bikes: It's complicated.

Mentioned: 1299 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4678 Post(s)
Liked 5,793 Times in 2,280 Posts
Shorts, diapers, and wool undies

Warning: rant.

I started off in the mid-70's with a pair of wool shorts and a real chamois. I was just rinsing them with warm water and line drying for a few months, then my mom got a hold of 'em, and in they went in the washing machine and dryer, thinking I was just a filthy teenager. They got downsized, the chamois turned into sheet metal, so I bought a pair of burgundy synthetic shorts with an early synthetic chamois. And it was the 70's. I caught a lot of grief, but I kept riding with them. Later I got into standard black, then black bibs, and the synthetic chamois improved. I stopped riding regularly after the kids were born, so there was no need to purchase shorts for a good 10 years.

When I started riding regularly again, my couple of pairs of shorts still had life in them until about a year ago, so off to the LBS I went. To my shock, every single pair of shorts had a thick foam pad in them. The synthetic chamois of yesterday had morphed into "systems" with all kinds of buzzwords written out on cards attached to them. I tried several other shops, one gave me the Monty Python line: "these have less padding in them than the others"... I broke down and found online, get this, some NOS wool shorts in my size. Two pair, different makers, one made in Mexico, the other Spanish. With REAL chamois. But, I think I like the "old" synthetic chamois better, but with no padding. Or if they did, it was almost nothing. And, truth be told, the wool is a bit itchy, just as I remembered them from my youth. I wear wool socks and wool t-shirts as my base layer, but it's the soft, merino wool kind. These shorts aren't.