Old 11-21-15, 05:18 PM
Dacino3

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by BikeDood53 View Post
So did you get the IZip, and if so, how do you like it ? Pro's and Con's ? Worth the money ?
I am not a bike mechanic, nor have I owned an E-Bike. My previous bike was a Titanium bike with nearly full Dura-Ace. I put about 1500 miles a year on that bike over the past 3-4 years. I did test ride about 5 E-Bikes and have 200 miles on this one. Take my brief review with a grain of salt.

It came new in box and is a 2012 model. Basic bike assembly required. Again, Curie Tech verified the battery condition and it has the standard warranty. I didn't check voltage. I calibrated the belt drive, front/rear brakes, derailleurs, and inflated the tires. The battery took about 2 hours to fully top off.

Distance/Time- They recommend fully draining the battery the first 3 times. It went for about 3 hours at level 5 (the highest level). What's slightly frustrating is once you get down to 1/5 battery it automatically lowers to the lowest assist setting. At the lowest assist I went about 6 miles until the battery died. The total mileage on one charge over the course of two days, on max assist, with few hills is maybe 35 miles.

Speed/Hills- With the highest assist I average about 22-23 MPH on flat roads, low assist is maybe 16-17. The fastest I've gone at a comfortable cadence is 24 downhill. I think it should go faster and I'm working with the company now to verify speed. I went to the highest grade hill I could find. It's a sledding hill and some random website has it listed at 40 degrees and 500-600 feet. That is the very edge of this bikes capability, but it went up with 15 pounds in the panniers.

Battery- It comes off and on pretty easy and weighs 15ish pounds. It takes roughly 7 hours to fully charge from empty.