Old 07-15-16, 09:13 AM
corrado33

Bikes: 199? Landshark Roadshark, 198? Mondonico Diamond, 1987 Panasonic DX-5000, 1987 Bianchi Limited, Univega... Chrome..., 1989 Schwinn Woodlands, Motobecane USA Record, Raleigh Tokul 2

Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1125 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by WolfRider View Post
Newbie here, but I appreciate all the archieved info available on the site.

I grew up cycling and was a decent rider and I know vintage bikes pretty well. I was never much of mechanic though. I have just started getting back into cycling after a long time off. Finally got in riding shape on a crapola commuter. I wasn't even trying that hard but I just picked up a couple nice vintage Road bikes somehow. I know what I like, I am vintage steel guy 80's 90's Road or Mountain. (I'm lost with all the newer bikes Carbon fiber ,aluminum and most mfg seems to be in China and parts plastic) I plan on getting a few more bikes. So what I have is a Rossin Record and a Raliegh Competition GS. Both are clean and original and have been garage queens for awhile.

So the local bike shop guy is good but a little pricy for me. I am just having him repack BB bearings and hubs and maybe put some new brake rubber on.

What is the best course of action from that point? I want to take all the parts off and clean them and detail the frame forks. and put everything back together. I would like to do a little work myself to learn, but I don't have tools and I don't want to mess anything up on these two. I probably need a practice bike to hack around on myself. It would be great if I could find a guy to help me and I could learn a little in the process. Or I could just pay to get it done right. Any suggestions? What can I get away with doing myself? ( I am coordinated with tools, just need direction and some practice)
Bike coops are a great place to start. You put them down yet it seems like you know much less than they do.