View Single Post
Old 11-08-16, 04:46 PM
ptotheatsign

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
PDKL45,

I am not a medical professional, so take my recommendations with a grain of salt, but below is what I have experienced so far:

I also have degenerative disc disease (DDD). Specifically, my lower two discs (L5/S1 and L4/L5) are "dead"; on an MRI scan, they show up as black and weak, whereas the discs higher in the spine are white and healthy. I am 32. I have had low-back issues since 2010, at age 26, when I injured myself while using a leg press machine. Since then I was able to complete a short stint in physical therapy and improve and do a lot of quality fast-paced group riding in late 2011 and all of 2012; complete a cross-USA tour (4,000-plus miles) in 2013 with amazingly little back pain; and continue the quality riding through 2014. But in 2015 and 2016 I have experienced similar muscle pulls/spasms as you mentioned, which have completely debilitated me for days/weeks at a time, and I have only been able to do lots of garbage cycling miles.

Unfortunately, it seems there is no one cure. Just today I got back from an appointment with the most highly respected spine doctor I could find in my area, and he had little reassuring good news. He said that if the discs are in a state of DDD, then they will not get better; they will just deteriorate over time. My doctor did not recommend any surgical fixes to my issues because of my young age and (relatively high) activity level. Of course, I am in pain most of my life, either on the bike or off, ranging from low-level soreness, to quite sore and pained, to excruciating pain during flareups of the injury, so even though I am trying to continue to be highly active, I feel like ****!

The main recommendations to deal with DDD and being a cyclist are: