Old 08-21-17, 08:50 AM
iab

Mentioned: 99 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1352 Post(s)
Liked 61 Times in 41 Posts
Well I'm glad everyone had a fine time. I'm jealous as I spent that day still resting. The recuperation is coming along. I took my first pain-free ride since last year exactly 1 week ago and I did 45 minutes yesterday. Granted, it felt like 4 hours. I am not up to par just yet.

Also, thanks for the pictures and write ups. Very nice.

One thing I have read here and some emails, the ride support pretty much sucked. When I first started this thread, I mentioned the other challenge ride in Wisconsin is the Horribly Hilly Hundreds. I hate it. Crappy "roadie" food. Crappy start/finish. And the participants are typically the Strava-loving-this-is-a-race-I-must-win types. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but that is not the vibe I like.

When I started riding the Dare, it was not like the HHH. Correct me if I am wrong, but after riding last year and the reports of this year, the Dare is more like the HHH than the Dare of yesteryear.

So I have had some offline discussions with Robbie and we wanted to bring up the subject of changing venues.

There is a ride in Wisconsin called Bike the Barns (they actually have a challenge ride early spring around LaCrosse, but I'm talking about the Madison ride). Links are below. I rode this in 2008 and 2010 and after talking with friends, it has not changed its vibe since then. The long route (this year, 78 miles) typically stops at 3 CSA farms, many of them organic. Absolutely, without any doubt, the best supported ride I have ever experienced. My .02, better than Cino. I had a BLT there that is still the best I have ever eaten. Some farms you pick your own berries. Freshly made ice cream. When I can, I'll make a Flickr album of my 2008 ride. I rode alone in 2010.