Old 11-22-18, 12:40 PM
Flying G

Bikes: 1971 Gitane TDF, 1974 Gitane Interclub, 2001 Serotta Rapid Tour CS3, 1986 Bruce Gordon touring bike, 1972 Gitane Super Corsa, 1978 Michal Johnson, 1972 Lambert Professional Grand Prix, 1983 Vitus (resto project), 1972 Raleigh Professional (resto)

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked 34 Times in 19 Posts
For Blompson/OP,

I've been riding a Gitane Interclub since 1974 and love the bike and the ride. I really like the other bikes in the stable, including a custom Serotta and Bruce Gordon, but there is something about a Gitane and the history of the company, including Greg LeMond, that makes it special. FWIW, I'm happy to share what I know about the Purple SC and some other candidates in the Portland, Seattle, and Bellingham areas:

The Purple SC:

1. Has been listed multiple times on CL and I recall seeing it for more ($795?) earlier this year. For reference points, I saw another purple SC on CL in SoCal for around $900 as well. On Pinkbike.com, you can also find a really nice red SC that sold for $1200 last year. SCs can be pricey and I doubt you'll find an inexpensive one, especially if it is all Campy and sports a Ideale saddle in good shape.

2. Beautiful color and trim and looks to be in outstanding condition - ready to ride with minimal changes.

3. The seller is attached to it but must sell it because of space, etc. so he may be open to offers.

4. The mix of Simplex and Campy components is a little strange and the hanger work adds to the mystery. I hate to say it but I suspect that this is a juiced up Tour de France. Caveat emptor!

5. Check out the bike, meet the seller, take it for a test ride and let us know the outcome!

Vintage French Road Bikes: