View Single Post
Old 12-02-19, 05:16 AM
jpescatore

Bikes: Trek Domane SL6 Disc, Jamis Renegade

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked 304 Times in 217 Posts
I've been riding an SL6 Domane for 3 years, about 95% on road - the occasional gravel stretch of a few miles during a 50 mile road ride, and the occasional crushed limestone rail trail. I run 32mm tires.

The Doimane is not great on actual gravel and the tires I run (Continental GP 5000s) are probably the biggest downside. The Domane and those tires are OK for the riding I describe above but I wouldn't do a "real" gravel ride on those tires, and since I weigh 230 I'm not convinced the rear wheel (Vision 40) and spokes are good choices for gravel either. But, if your non-paved riding will be mostly crushed limestone rail trails, I think the Domane will be fine. On that type of riding on the Domane, I haven't seen any finish damage - just lots of dust!

Since I want to do more/longer gravel rides, I considered buying a second set of wheels for the Domane. That would be a good compromise.

But, I have an old beater hybrid bike that I had been using on pure gravel or rail trail rides, and a old Trek 520 that I use on multiday road tours. In the end, I decided to do a "N-2+!" - I donated the old bikes and bought a Jamis Renegade steel bike as a touring/gravel bike.

I could have saved money by buying the wheels, but this way I could justify a new bike by ending up with fewer bikes! But, it is a cheaper alternative. If you aren't a "clydesdale" like me, you could just swap tires for actual gravel rides but to me that is a pain and increases the chances of nipping a tube (I have not gone tubeless) and causing self induced flats.