Old 11-01-21, 09:40 PM
WinterCommuter

Bikes: 2014 Trek Farley, 1993 Gary Fisher Paragon

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by Cramic
Might be more a vent, but as I’m fairly new to cycling I’d appreciate hearing member’s thoughts on bell ringing to let people know you’re passing. I ring it on a case-by-case basis (if there’s a large speed differential, if I know we’re approaching a section where people often cross lanes, kids, etc.) but had a fairly unpleasant experience today.

Was on a shared bike/pedestrian path and there was a couple ahead. More leisure cyclists, both appeared to be in their fifties, and cycling single file with about 5m between them. Path doing a few twists when I came up on her rear and I free wheeled and coasted behind for about ten seconds. She heard my pawls/freehub (pretty loud on my bike) and looked back so knew I was there and that I would be passing. As we came around the last corner the path was clear for 100m ahead so I moved far right and passed her. As I did she called to her partner “bike passing” and I passed him shortly afterwards. He shouted after me, “know that bell on your bike? ******g use it”.

Totally unnecessary (in my opinion) and I returned to remonstrate, explaining that his partner knew I was there, had called to him, we were only doing about 10kmh and I passed a good 2m on his right. I actually felt I’d been more than polite, giving her space and waiting until I could be absolutely certain it was safe to pass.

I’m passed frequently by other cyclists on bike paths, at 30kmh plus, and rarely, if ever, does anybody ring their bell. I do if I’ve noticed a cyclist not keeping religiously left, but usually don’t if there’s good space to pass.