Doug Fattic 
framebuilder

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked 1,914 Times in 655 Posts
Originally Posted by merziac
Guess I'll have to bring up these guys.

PDX, early 70's, Merz, Newlands and DiNucci.

All self taught as far as I know, making PDX an epicenter ever since.

And Bruce Gordon came to Eugene for 10 years to build and hang out with them.

Currently home to Sasha White, Dave Levy, Ira Ryan, Chris Igleheart, Tony Pereira, Joseph Ahearne, Bob Kamzelski and others.
I just had a nice phone call with Jim Merz. He was the 1st American to pass the Reynold 753 test. This was given in order to make sure builders could be successful making a frame with this new light heat treated tubing. Many classic era European builders had pretty crude methods that wouldn't work well with this new stuff. Reynolds didn't want the reputation of their new flagship tubing to get damaged by inadequate builders. When I visited Terry Bill at Reynolds in Birmingham in 1977, he told me every American up to that point had failed the test. So Passing the full test that including making an entire frame was kind of a big deal. Later they dumbed it down to just a few stub tubes that needed to be brazed into a bottom bracket shell. No complete frame was checked for alignment accuracy to pass this new test.