View Single Post
Old 01-12-22, 12:08 AM
Doug Fattic 
framebuilder

Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 443 Post(s)
Liked 1,083 Times in 414 Posts
Since my classes were mentioned, I thought I better comment. My wife is going to retire this year so that means I will need to cut back on my teaching schedule. I'm way past the time when I could have retired. I usually do 5 three-week classes a year with one or two students in each class. I squeeze a painting class or two in there as well. I feel some obligation to continue teaching so the craft can maintain a high standard. I was very fortunate to go to Ellis Briggs in Yorkshire in 1975 to learn. Jack Briggs had plenty of time to show me and I worked along side Andrew the journeyman builder that allowed me to get my own experiences. I was a high school teacher at the time and my purpose for going was to bring the secrets back to the States to share them here. I taught my 1st class in a college setting in 1976 and have done it steadily since then. Over the years I've been able to refine the process. I expect every student to leave class with a professional quality frame. Sometimes I have to make up the difference for the less talented. I get a lot of students that have already taken another class somewhere else. I make zero effort to advertise and that weeds out the casuals. The most motivated seekers find me.