Old 01-12-22, 03:49 PM
Andy_K 

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 437 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2555 Post(s)
Liked 1,743 Times in 757 Posts
Originally Posted by Chombi1 View Post
Safest approach, based on what most structural designers are typically comfortable with, is 1/3 of the load bearing structural member to be anchored to structure and 2/3 cantilevered, max..... but it looks like seatpost designers did not really follow this rule.....
My degree is in physics and math, so I've always looked at engineers as a curious species. They have a strange mix of intuition and pragmatism. Having been trained in physics and math, and now working as a programmer, my mind always goes straight to setting up equations (albeit with a generous helping of simplifying assumptions). So, I'm curious, from a structural engineering perspective, does the fact that the force typically comes in at an angle modify the 1/3 2/3 rule? Granted there are cases where the impact may be perpendicular, and I guess structural engineering is all about those worst case scenarios....

Also, having started imagining force diagrams and equations in my head, I wasn't happy with @79pmooney's simplification of the force being concentrated at the end of the seat post. I wanted some integral computation with incrementally increasing force dispersed along the length of the section of post below the pivot (and some above if you've got a Cannondale!) -- which led me to the picture above with several kids sitting along the length of a see saw. But when I thought about why he'd make that assumption I decided that it must be something along the lines of "if you make a calculation based on this simplified assumption, it won't fail and the math is easier."