Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > "The 33"-Road Bike Racing
Reload this Page >

Single Day License - Points transfer to real license?

"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Single Day License - Points transfer to real license?

Old 06-30-10, 09:03 PM
  #1  
Copperhed51
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Copperhed51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS and Denver, CO
Posts: 720

Bikes: 2008 Felt F5 w/ SRAM Force, 2002 Giant OCR2, Specialized Stumpjumper M2 Comp

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Single Day License - Points transfer to real license?

Sorry if this has been posted, didn't see it anywhere but I suck at the search function.

I raced this weekend and didn't have a real license yet so I got the single day license. Now that I have a real license, can I get the points from that race to transfer to my real license? I'm not in a huge hurry to cat up but don't want to sandbag either.
Copperhed51 is offline  
Old 06-30-10, 09:29 PM
  #2  
ericm979
Senior Member
 
ericm979's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains
Posts: 6,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You track upgrade points yourself. The ones on USACycling results are some other mystery points. So there's no transfer from your one day license.
ericm979 is offline  
Old 06-30-10, 11:19 PM
  #3  
Copperhed51
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Copperhed51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS and Denver, CO
Posts: 720

Bikes: 2008 Felt F5 w/ SRAM Force, 2002 Giant OCR2, Specialized Stumpjumper M2 Comp

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ericm979 View Post
You track upgrade points yourself. The ones on USACycling results are some other mystery points. So there's no transfer from your one day license.
cool, thx
Copperhed51 is offline  
Old 07-01-10, 12:02 AM
  #4  
umd
Banned
 
umd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 28,387

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac SL2, Specialized Tarmac SL, Giant TCR Composite, Specialized StumpJumper Expert HT

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
5s also don't get upgrade points. You just track race starts.
umd is offline  
Old 07-01-10, 08:24 AM
  #5  
wanders
going roundy round
 
wanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 6,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Theoretical question.

New racer does only 4/5 races. Wins everyone. After 10, could he go and ask for upgrade based on prior results as newly minted 4 and go to 3?

Headed to usac site now to find rulebook.
wanders is offline  
Old 07-01-10, 08:31 AM
  #6  
carpediemracing 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tariffville, CT
Posts: 15,087

Bikes: Tsunami Bikes

Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
In mixed races I think your places count versus the other races in your category. I know they rank it that way for races I've promoted - they distinguish between the 1s, 2s, and 3s in a P123 race. Oh, and Ps and UCI licenses too.

So if I were to do a bunch of Cat 2-3 races and did well, I'd be ranked against the other 3s, not the 2s. I shouldn't be able to become a Cat 1 because I've been winning Cat 2-3 races.
carpediemracing is offline  
Old 07-01-10, 08:33 AM
  #7  
timster
ɹǝʇsɯıʇ
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MD
Posts: 840

Bikes: 2011 Focus Whistler // 2011 Cannondale CAAD10 // 2009 Scattante XRL TT // 1993 Cannondale R400

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah, if you are a cat 4 in a cat 4/5 race, field size only counts as other cat 4 riders, not the whole field.
timster is offline  
Old 07-01-10, 08:37 AM
  #8  
GirlAnachronism
Bulldozer
 
GirlAnachronism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is this different for open races? In my experience it seems like everyone is scored together, unless it's explicitly stated that the fields are scored separately.
GirlAnachronism is offline  
Old 07-01-10, 09:39 AM
  #9  
umd
Banned
 
umd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 28,387

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac SL2, Specialized Tarmac SL, Giant TCR Composite, Specialized StumpJumper Expert HT

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by wanders View Post
New racer does only 4/5 races. Wins everyone. After 10, could he go and ask for upgrade based on prior results as newly minted 4 and go to 3?
No, you have to be a 4 to get points. The slate is wiped clean when you upgrade.
umd is offline  
Old 07-16-10, 02:23 PM
  #10  
blaronn
Senior Member
 
blaronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by wanders View Post
New racer does only 4/5 races. Wins everyone. After 10, could he go and ask for upgrade based on prior results as newly minted 4 and go to 3?
Assuming new racer is a cat-5 the only relevant info is the number of mass-start races started (finishing isn't even mandatory). If >10 then it's time to upgrade to cat-4. Cat-5 racers can't earn upgrade points, so no, they can't upgrade to 3 until they've earned points as a 4.


Originally Posted by GirlAnachronism View Post
Is this different for open races? In my experience it seems like everyone is scored together, unless it's explicitly stated that the fields are scored separately.
Scored together, yes. Upgrade points are a completely different beast though and are only earned against those in the same (or higher) category.

USA Cycling says:
"...note that if the field contains mixed categories (i.e. cat 3-4), then the number of starters is the number of riders that are the same category or higher as the person requesting the upgrade (i.e. in a cat 3-4 combined field, all riders count for a 4 to 3 upgrade, but only the threes count for a 3 to 2 upgrade.) The placing is the rider's placing across the line. In a mixed category field, the riders in a higher category are not subtracted out (i.e. in a combined cat 3-4 race, if a category 4 rider is 6th across the line but is the 2nd cat 4, that rider gets 6th place points and not 2nd place points.)"
blaronn is offline  
Old 07-16-10, 03:09 PM
  #11  
mattm
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,350
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1064 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by timster View Post
Yeah, if you are a cat 4 in a cat 4/5 race, field size only counts as other cat 4 riders, not the whole field.
Some places (like here) aren't that strict about that; I got full points from 4/5's races from what I can tell (separate fields would have been <50)
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.