Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

My geek thread

Old 01-11-11, 11:25 AM
  #426  
Elite Fred
Thread Starter
 
mollusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edge City
Posts: 10,945

Bikes: 2009 Spooky (cracked frame), 2006 Curtlo, 2002 Lemond (current race bike) Zurich, 1987 Serotta Colorado, 1986 Cannondale for commuting, a 1984 Cannondale on loan to my son

Liked 43 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by Homebrew01
Maybe time to upgrade to Windows 7 ... I hear it's a reinstall if coming from XP ?
Yes.

And you get to avoid Vista completely. That's a good thing.
mollusk is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 01:12 PM
  #427  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 970

Bikes: Giant Defy 2

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mollusk
Yes.

And you get to avoid Vista completely. That's a good thing.
Vista wasn't that bad, seriously people. It's been four years, if you had proper hardware it ran perfectly well.

You'll also need a TV tuner if you don't have one, likely easiest to find a USB 2.0 one, though god help you if you need CableCard or to get access to anything above basic cable
Urthwhyte is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 01:14 PM
  #428  
OldSchool
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,239
Liked 28 Times in 20 Posts
Originally Posted by Urthwhyte
Vista wasn't that bad
No, Vista wasn't that bad.....

It was awful and pathetic! It was the reincarnation of Windows ME! Just the very fact that one of the largest corporations in the world puts out an operating system and your endorsement is "Vista wasn't that bad" says it all!
cpsqlrwn is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 01:18 PM
  #429  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 970

Bikes: Giant Defy 2

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by cpsqlrwn
No, Vista wasn't that bad.....

It was awful and pathetic! It was the reincarnation of Windows ME! Just the very fact that one of the largest corporations in the world puts out an operating system and your endorsement is "Vista wasn't that bad" says it all!
You clearly never used OS X if you think that one of the largest corporations putting out an operating system is any measure of quality. Vista was a huge step forward over XP, that any better?
Urthwhyte is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 01:19 PM
  #430  
OldSchool
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,239
Liked 28 Times in 20 Posts
Originally Posted by Urthwhyte
You clearly never used OS X if you think that one of the largest corporations putting out an operating system is any measure of quality. Vista was a huge step forward over XP, that any better?
Not a measure of quality, a measure of expectations!
cpsqlrwn is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 01:19 PM
  #431  
Elite Fred
Thread Starter
 
mollusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edge City
Posts: 10,945

Bikes: 2009 Spooky (cracked frame), 2006 Curtlo, 2002 Lemond (current race bike) Zurich, 1987 Serotta Colorado, 1986 Cannondale for commuting, a 1984 Cannondale on loan to my son

Liked 43 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by Urthwhyte
Vista wasn't that bad, seriously people. It's been four years, if you had proper hardware it ran perfectly well.
My HP all-in-one LaserJet never played well with 64-bit Vista. It works just fine under 32 and 64-bit XP and 32 and 64 bit 7 along with several flavors of Linux. You can blame HP if you wish.
mollusk is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 01:22 PM
  #432  
Senior Member
 
caloso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sacramento, California, USA
Posts: 40,865

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Canyon Exceed, Specialized Transition, Ellsworth Roots, Ridley Excalibur

Liked 3,110 Times in 1,418 Posts
I don't know anything about software but I know that Vista sucks.
caloso is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 01:23 PM
  #433  
OldSchool
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,239
Liked 28 Times in 20 Posts
Originally Posted by mollusk
My HP all-in-one LaserJet never played well with 64-bit Vista. It works just fine under 32 and 64-bit XP and 32 and 64 bit 7 along with several flavors of Linux. You can blame HP if you wish.
Amen! This post speaks volumes. Maintaining a productive balance between functionality, features, and ease of use is what it's all about and Vista was clearly a step backward, particularly in functionality!
cpsqlrwn is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 01:25 PM
  #434  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 970

Bikes: Giant Defy 2

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mollusk
My HP all-in-one LaserJet never played well with 64-bit Vista. It works just fine under 32 and 64-bit XP and 32 and 64 bit 7 along with several flavors of Linux. You can blame HP if you wish.
A manufacturer known for writing terrible drivers for consumer equipment released terrible drivers for consumer equipment? Alert the presses! Next thing we know Creative will have released something of anything other than absolutely sterling quality after fully testing it and ensuring it performs as expected!
Originally Posted by cpsqlrwn
Amen! This post speaks volumes. Maintaining a productive balance between functionality, features, and ease of use is what it's all about and Vista was clearly a step backward, particularly in functionality!
I think it's time to put down the Kool-Aid and take a look at what Vista's (not Longhorn's) intention was. If you've any appreciation for software engineering, you'll realize what a huge step forward it represented.
Urthwhyte is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 01:53 PM
  #435  
Elite Fred
Thread Starter
 
mollusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edge City
Posts: 10,945

Bikes: 2009 Spooky (cracked frame), 2006 Curtlo, 2002 Lemond (current race bike) Zurich, 1987 Serotta Colorado, 1986 Cannondale for commuting, a 1984 Cannondale on loan to my son

Liked 43 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by Urthwhyte
A manufacturer known for writing terrible drivers for consumer equipment released terrible drivers for consumer equipment?
Mine was marketed by HP for small to medium business, not consumer, and advertised as Vista ready.
mollusk is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 02:23 PM
  #436  
slow up hills
 
kudude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,931

Bikes: Giant TCR, Redline CX, Ritchey Breakaway, Spec S-works epic

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fyi, linux nerd says:

mythtv
kudude is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 02:28 PM
  #437  
Elite Fred
Thread Starter
 
mollusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edge City
Posts: 10,945

Bikes: 2009 Spooky (cracked frame), 2006 Curtlo, 2002 Lemond (current race bike) Zurich, 1987 Serotta Colorado, 1986 Cannondale for commuting, a 1984 Cannondale on loan to my son

Liked 43 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by kudude
fyi, linux nerd says:

mythtv
Good plan for Homebrew01 if/when he gets the right video card.
mollusk is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 02:36 PM
  #438  
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,402
Liked 104 Times in 30 Posts
Who cares about Vista, Win7 is here.. it's already taken up >20% of the market-share, something Vista never did, from what I read.

My nerdy update: happy to report Win7 is running smoothly on my old laptop (1GHz, 512mb RAM)!! I can't run a ton of stuff on it, but it's getting the job done. Sweet.
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 02:55 PM
  #439  
Super Moderator
 
Homebrew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ffld Cnty Connecticut
Posts: 21,878

Bikes: Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales

Liked 985 Times in 640 Posts
Originally Posted by Urthwhyte
You'll also need a TV tuner if you don't have one, likely easiest to find a USB 2.0 one, though god help you if you need CableCard or to get access to anything above basic cable
I have a High Def Cable box bringing the signal into the house.
I don't want to save shows. Just watch them later & then record over them.

mythtv - Do I need a Linux machine ?
__________________
Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike.

FYI: https://www.bikeforums.net/forum-sugg...ad-please.html

Last edited by Homebrew01; 01-11-11 at 02:58 PM.
Homebrew01 is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 03:02 PM
  #440  
Elite Fred
Thread Starter
 
mollusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edge City
Posts: 10,945

Bikes: 2009 Spooky (cracked frame), 2006 Curtlo, 2002 Lemond (current race bike) Zurich, 1987 Serotta Colorado, 1986 Cannondale for commuting, a 1984 Cannondale on loan to my son

Liked 43 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by Homebrew01
mythtv - Do I need a Linux machine ?
yes and no.

https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Frequentl..._on_Windows.3F
mollusk is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 04:24 PM
  #441  
Making a kilometer blurry
 
waterrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin (near TX)
Posts: 26,170

Bikes: rkwaki's porn collection

Liked 92 Times in 38 Posts
Originally Posted by Homebrew01
I have a High Def Cable box bringing the signal into the house.
I don't want to save shows. Just watch them later & then record over them.

mythtv - Do I need a Linux machine ?
You can also get a cheap Windows Media Center. Even old XP MCE from 2005-6 would work fine (that's what I've been using at home for 5 years to record all our TV).
waterrockets is offline  
Old 01-11-11, 09:41 PM
  #442  
Super Moderator
 
Homebrew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ffld Cnty Connecticut
Posts: 21,878

Bikes: Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales

Liked 985 Times in 640 Posts
Originally Posted by waterrockets
You can also get a cheap Windows Media Center. Even old XP MCE from 2005-6 would work fine (that's what I've been using at home for 5 years to record all our TV).
My desktop (now kid's machine) is running Windows XP Professional SP3.
It would be a better candidate than the laptop.
__________________
Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike.

FYI: https://www.bikeforums.net/forum-sugg...ad-please.html

Last edited by Homebrew01; 01-11-11 at 09:58 PM.
Homebrew01 is offline  
Old 01-12-11, 11:51 AM
  #443  
Genetics have failed me
 
Scummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Zorneding, Germany
Posts: 3,057

Bikes: Norwid Aaland, Radon Slide 140, Elom 505 Titan, Dahon mju, Pedalforce CX1, Battaglin Power+, Old MTB and lots of spare parts

Liked 15 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by kudude
fyi, linux nerd says:

mythtv
+1
And HDHomerun!
Also the new ION2 chipset from nvidia rox for watching 1080p on an Atom processor without even taxing the proc 5%.
__________________
Gelato aficionado.
Scummer is offline  
Old 01-12-11, 03:34 PM
  #444  
Senior Member
 
SalsaPodio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 965

Bikes: 2012 Parlee Z5

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Had somewhat of a breakthrough in my coating technique for my research.

Now I can have something to talk about at the group meeting tomorrow.
SalsaPodio is offline  
Old 01-12-11, 09:59 PM
  #445  
meow
 
bostongarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hint: check out my BF name
Posts: 5,831

Bikes: 2016 Parlee Altum, 2013 Cannondale Super Six Evo Hi Mod Di2 only, 2011 Cannondale Super Six, Dura Ace 7800, 2007 Cannondale System Six Dura Ace 7800, 1992 Bridgestone RB-1, MB-2, MB-3, MB-5

Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Monitor management question por favor:

1) Running Windows 7 for first time (I like it so far).
2) Screen saver comes on as scheduled.
3) But, at some point, it sort of goes off and the monitor is not off (i.e., the screen is not blank); there is a slight bit of a glow (no text or images, just a slight glow).
4) When I move the mouse, the monitor jumps to attention and I see the prompt to click on admin or switch users.

My main concern is monitor burn in or some other ailment. Should I be worried? What do I set to keep the screen saver going until I move the mouse.

Grazi.
bostongarden is offline  
Old 01-12-11, 10:19 PM
  #446  
slow up hills
 
kudude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,931

Bikes: Giant TCR, Redline CX, Ritchey Breakaway, Spec S-works epic

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by SalsaPodio
Had somewhat of a breakthrough in my coating technique for my research.

Now I can have something to talk about at the group meeting tomorrow.
w00t

coating what with what?
kudude is offline  
Old 01-13-11, 09:58 AM
  #447  
My idea of fun
 
kensuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 9,920

Bikes: '06 Litespeed Tuscany, '02 Kona Lavadome, '07 Giant TCR Advanced, '07 Karate Monkey

Liked 59 Times in 36 Posts
I've had to tell people "no no no no no!" all morning long, so I guess I need to start looking at other options to present to them.

So, has anyone used any air conditioned (or water cooled) rack enclosures, such as a Liebert MCR or custom cabinet from a place like Rackmount Solutions? Any comments?
kensuf is offline  
Old 01-13-11, 12:32 PM
  #448  
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,402
Liked 104 Times in 30 Posts
Originally Posted by bostongarden
Monitor management question por favor:

1) Running Windows 7 for first time (I like it so far).
2) Screen saver comes on as scheduled.
3) But, at some point, it sort of goes off and the monitor is not off (i.e., the screen is not blank); there is a slight bit of a glow (no text or images, just a slight glow).
4) When I move the mouse, the monitor jumps to attention and I see the prompt to click on admin or switch users.

My main concern is monitor burn in or some other ailment. Should I be worried? What do I set to keep the screen saver going until I move the mouse.

Grazi.
Check the Power settings under control panel, sounds like the monitor is being put in sleep mode.

Btw I don't think "burn" is a concern with LCD monitors, it was more of a CRT thing I believe.
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 01-13-11, 12:54 PM
  #449  
Elite Fred
Thread Starter
 
mollusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Edge City
Posts: 10,945

Bikes: 2009 Spooky (cracked frame), 2006 Curtlo, 2002 Lemond (current race bike) Zurich, 1987 Serotta Colorado, 1986 Cannondale for commuting, a 1984 Cannondale on loan to my son

Liked 43 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm
Check the Power settings under control panel, sounds like the monitor is being put in sleep mode.

Btw I don't think "burn" is a concern with LCD monitors, it was more of a CRT thing I believe.
and plasma screens.
mollusk is offline  
Old 01-13-11, 03:05 PM
  #450  
meow
 
bostongarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hint: check out my BF name
Posts: 5,831

Bikes: 2016 Parlee Altum, 2013 Cannondale Super Six Evo Hi Mod Di2 only, 2011 Cannondale Super Six, Dura Ace 7800, 2007 Cannondale System Six Dura Ace 7800, 1992 Bridgestone RB-1, MB-2, MB-3, MB-5

Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm
Check the Power settings under control panel, sounds like the monitor is being put in sleep mode.

Btw I don't think "burn" is a concern with LCD monitors, it was more of a CRT thing I believe.
Thank you. I have an ips monitor and I don't want to trash it. Good to know that this is not a worry.

I went to the power settings and the monitor was set to shut off in 30 minutes and the computer put to sleep in 2 hours. I set both to 30 minutes. I suspect that this will do the trick.

Thank you matt and the geek thread. (I was once a geek, but, now I have more questions than answers. Thanks. Although, perhaps, once a geek....)
bostongarden is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.