Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Racer Tech Thread

Old 12-04-15, 09:00 AM
  #2901  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by tetonrider
whether one wants some slack in case the junction box has to be pulled from the bike.
Have you ever actually had to access the B junction? There aren't any electronics in it, right, it's just a passive hub?
globecanvas is offline  
Old 12-04-15, 09:14 AM
  #2902  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Once. I pulled the seat post to perform my yearly carbon paste maintenance and it fell from where I had perched it, saddle and all. This loosened the battery wire just enough to require pulling the B junction to reseat it. So as long as you are not a dumbass like me, no it does not require access.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 12-04-15, 09:41 AM
  #2903  
fuggitivo solitario
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 9,107
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
Have you ever actually had to access the B junction? There aren't any electronics in it, right, it's just a passive hub?
which one? i once had 3 of them in my bike

in all seriousness though, not really. The only time was to swap an external for an internal battery.
echappist is offline  
Old 12-04-15, 10:29 AM
  #2904  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
Have you ever actually had to access the B junction? There aren't any electronics in it, right, it's just a passive hub?
yes, though it is rare.

had my bike in a friend's car while racing in CO--small car with 2 bikes, wheels, etc jammed in it. something must have crimped a wire just a bit that the signal could cut out. i raced just fine but replaced the wire when i got home.

had another time on my CruX where i wanted to add a FD for a gravel race (and change to 50/34 from a 42t 1x); i needed to pull the b-junction to add the FD, then later remove it when i returned it to cx race config.

like shovel said, infrequent--so you have to weigh against some hassle at the front end vs hassle on the back-end. (or no hassle at all if you just use longer wires.)

out of curiosity, why not go with longer wires? it will make installation faster and easier, and if you ever have to access the junction, that will be trivial, too. if you ever have to get to the b junction, you're more likely to be in a rush to access it than you are now. worth thinking about.

i just weighed a couple wires as i was curious (was preparing a bunch of things for sale on ebay and they were sitting on my desk). 500mm = 5g, 700 = 7g, 1000 = 9g. DT+ RD wires will be a little longer, but the battery wire is a bit shorter...so maybe 10g difference?

(i figured it is just passive, but years ago a friend had his di2 fail on a trip. we were in the middle of nowhere in the pyrenees. bike shops -- ones that are actually open -- are shockingly rare. anyway, we happen to find one, and they figured out that the junction failed. how this is possible i don't know--and due to the circumstance i didn't have the time or means to do any testing. i'm still puzzled by it.)
tetonrider is offline  
Old 12-04-15, 01:34 PM
  #2905  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by tetonrider
why not go with longer wires?

I probably will. It ends up being about 800mm of extra wire, if every wire is long enough to exit the top of the seat tube. As you say, the battery wire can be the minimum length, and the marginal weight is meaningless.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 12-04-15, 03:08 PM
  #2906  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
I probably will. It ends up being about 800mm of extra wire, if every wire is long enough to exit the top of the seat tube. As you say, the battery wire can be the minimum length, and the marginal weight is meaningless.
800mm total?

the FD is probably a wash.

i have a few extra di2 wires if you need them. i was going to list on ebay. i know 2 are 1200s if that is helpful, and i have a 150 (the longer ones -- and that short one -- have been a little harder to source, sometimes).
tetonrider is offline  
Old 12-04-15, 03:45 PM
  #2907  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks for the offer. I'll check in if I have any trouble finding the lengths I need.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 12-05-15, 05:30 PM
  #2908  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
@tetonrider, or anyone else, do you know if the venge has the same closed BB shell as the Tarmac? The "classic" venge, not the VIAS one.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 12-05-15, 05:44 PM
  #2909  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
@tetonrider, or anyone else, do you know if the venge has the same closed BB shell as the Tarmac? The "classic" venge, not the VIAS one.
all of the specialized bikes that i have seen recently have the closed BB shell. i can't recall a single bb30 model in ~10 years of dealing with them that had one that was open--but i didn't want to say anything authoritatively as someone will think of a counter example.

unlike some of the tarmacs which have had threaded BBs, i don't think the venge ever had one (you used adapters). i'd be very surprised if it was open.
tetonrider is offline  
Old 12-05-15, 05:52 PM
  #2910  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks. I ask because I can get an absurd deal on a 2016 non vias venge frameset. It's tempting to just do that and retire my broken tarmac. Maybe this is the last year for the old venges or whatever, but for a few hundred bucks, jeez.

This is what December is for, right? Mercurially chasing after every new-bike whim? Remind me not to break my bike at the end of next season so I can pay attention to my kids and stuff.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 12-05-15, 06:10 PM
  #2911  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
Thanks. I ask because I can get an absurd deal on a 2016 non vias venge frameset. It's tempting to just do that and retire my broken tarmac. Maybe this is the last year for the old venges or whatever, but for a few hundred bucks, jeez.

This is what December is for, right? Mercurially chasing after every new-bike whim? Remind me not to break my bike at the end of next season so I can pay attention to my kids and stuff.
a couple hundred $$ for an old venge? 100% do it.

when i got offered a ViAS in july, i was on a long drive with a buddy who was also thinking about one. we had expected a venge 2.0 -- more aero and lighter. i expected to replace my venge and he expected to get the new one, but...well, the ViAS happened; there are lots of reasons for and against it.

for his needs we ultimately decided he would be best replacing his 2010 Tarmac with a 2015 venge. he hopped on a good deal (we thought they might be phased out), but your deal is incredible.

the venge did not suddenly become a terrible bike. i planned to sell mine, but i'm 95% sure i'll keep it along with my tarmac and ViAS. there are numerous scenarios where i'd choose to race it.

it doesn't handle as well as the tarmac (or the ViAS)--it's subtle but noticeable. it is notably faster than the tarmac, esp when accelerating from 25 to 30mph. although some people complain about lack of comfort, it's nothing that dropping a couple psi in one's tires can't tune out--and i say this after many thousand miles with each....including racing the roubaix, tarmac, venge, and ViAS for at least one day each where i had 9h, continuous, in the saddle.

the venge is only ~150g or so heavier than a comparable tarmac...nothing.

you might notice some differences in handling (incl. a bit of understeer on the tarmac on high-speed descents). some people i know hate it, but that honestly baffles me.

i say go for it, if they have a color you like. after spending a bunch of time with the ViAS, i'm not sure the venge will be phased out. the ViAS isn't a drop-in replacement. unless some major things change with the ViAS, i bet specialized keeps the venge around a bit longer. i think eliminating it would push more people to the tarmac than to the new ViAS.
tetonrider is offline  
Old 12-05-15, 09:00 PM
  #2912  
Nonsense
 
TheKillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 13,918

Bikes: Affirmative

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked 541 Times in 237 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
but for a few hundred bucks, jeez.
Bruh, do it.
TheKillerPenguin is offline  
Old 12-05-15, 09:32 PM
  #2913  
Senior Member
 
hack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 3,888
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by TheKillerPenguin
Bruh, do it.
For reals! Hell, I'd buy a second one for that. I dig my Venge so much the New Tarmac frameset is still in the box somewhere in my garage.
hack is offline  
Old 12-05-15, 10:24 PM
  #2914  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Screw the kids. Get the Venge.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 12-05-15, 10:36 PM
  #2915  
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,474

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3374 Post(s)
Liked 371 Times in 253 Posts
Son has Venge - will be riding Tarmac this year.
Doge is offline  
Old 12-05-15, 10:37 PM
  #2916  
Senior Member
 
hack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 3,888
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Doge
Son has Venge - will be riding Tarmac this year.
yeah, but he's a rower now
hack is offline  
Old 12-06-15, 06:12 PM
  #2917  
Senior Member
 
ips0803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
Great link, thanks!

More questions now. This will be an interesting project to puzzle over for the next month or so.

My 2010 Tarmac frame is not set up for internal wiring. But, the frame was recently broken, repaired, and stripped, so I would be willing to experiment with drilling it out. Shimano even makes grommets for retrofitted holes. I'm thinking I would drill out the cable stop rivets. It's appealing as a tinkering project.

Or, stick with the etap plan.
I did this with a systemsix. I used sugru for the "grommets" and drilled out one of the cable stop rivets to run the harness.


ips0803 is offline  
Old 12-06-15, 09:21 PM
  #2918  
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,474

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3374 Post(s)
Liked 371 Times in 253 Posts
Originally Posted by hack
yeah, but he's a rower now
What will I do with this stuff?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
BikesToBuildsm.jpg (75.2 KB, 116 views)
Doge is offline  
Old 12-06-15, 09:29 PM
  #2919  
Nonsense
 
TheKillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 13,918

Bikes: Affirmative

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 880 Post(s)
Liked 541 Times in 237 Posts
Are any of those 58's? If so I have a pretty good idea what you can do with all that useless junk.
TheKillerPenguin is offline  
Old 12-06-15, 10:53 PM
  #2920  
Senior Member
 
hack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 3,888
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I'll use the Shiv for the time being.
hack is offline  
Old 12-06-15, 10:56 PM
  #2921  
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,474

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3374 Post(s)
Liked 371 Times in 253 Posts
The pile (frames) on the floor I do not own. Those on the wall I do. 56 except for the tt bikes. At this point junior is learning to ride what he's given.
Anyway this was in response to which bike between the Tarmac and Venge. They are different - size/fit about the same while the ride is different. Daniel said for a Crit - Venge. For a RR Tarmac.

Last edited by Doge; 12-06-15 at 11:00 PM.
Doge is offline  
Old 12-06-15, 11:24 PM
  #2922  
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,474

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3374 Post(s)
Liked 371 Times in 253 Posts
About 6 months ago I was commenting on the hardened steel dropout plates on the Venge (which I removed and adjusted the angle). They are not there on the Tarmac and the Shiv is alloy. Seems the dropout angle is different too. I'll know for sure later.
Doge is offline  
Old 12-07-15, 12:00 AM
  #2923  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Doge
What will I do with this stuff?
2 shivs? interesting. a buddy is on a fully sponsored u23 team, and they don't even give them 2 shivs. (and prior to that he was on a team sponsored by specialized.)

one for training and one for racing?

i have the opposite feeling as your son: i'd ride the tarmac in a crit sooner and a venge in a RR instead of the reverse (though i do have that option and always choose to race the venge).
tetonrider is offline  
Old 12-07-15, 06:27 AM
  #2924  
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
sweet jesus
mike868y is offline  
Old 12-07-15, 06:44 AM
  #2925  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Doge
What will I do with this stuff?
Why does the Venge say "Finally The Small Pinkies" on the seat stay?

( perhaps I am misreading it )
globecanvas is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.