Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Racer Tech Thread

Old 12-29-15, 11:44 AM
  #2951  
Senior Member
 
abhirama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: India.
Posts: 299

Bikes: Canyon Aeroad, Ridley Fenix

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Any recommendations (preferably something with a battery compartment that can be opened with a coin) for an ANT+ HR strap? The tiny little screws on the transmitting pod of my Garmin HRM got rounded and I may have to bin the thing. Considering the Wahoo Tickr.

Last edited by abhirama; 12-29-15 at 11:55 AM.
abhirama is offline  
Old 12-29-15, 12:51 PM
  #2952  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,195

Bikes: 2017 Raleigh RX 1.0, 2018 Specialized Allez

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked 628 Times in 334 Posts
Originally Posted by abhirama
Any recommendations (preferably something with a battery compartment that can be opened with a coin) for an ANT+ HR strap? The tiny little screws on the transmitting pod of my Garmin HRM got rounded and I may have to bin the thing. Considering the Wahoo Tickr.
Don't know if you'd consider a wrist one, but I use the mio fuse and it's quite good.
hubcyclist is offline  
Old 12-29-15, 04:12 PM
  #2953  
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
does anyone know if it's possible on strava when you select "stationary trainer" to get it to use the "ride time" as opposed to the "elapsed time?" For example, yesterday my garmin ride time was only an hour but the elapsed time was 1:30 (I was adjusting my cleats throughout the ride and paused my garmin).
mike868y is offline  
Old 12-29-15, 04:23 PM
  #2954  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Not that I know of.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 12-29-15, 04:42 PM
  #2955  
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
well that's silly.
@Ygduf fix this
mike868y is offline  
Old 12-29-15, 05:07 PM
  #2956  
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,563
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1850 Post(s)
Liked 670 Times in 424 Posts
Just got a GoPro Hero 4 Session. Any suggestions on which mount to go with?

My first thought was to go with the K-Edge that puts the camera out in front of the bars a bit. Like this: https://www.universalcycles.com/shop...&category=2104

But then I saw the option to put in on the top cap: https://www.universalcycles.com/shop...&category=2104. That one seems very intriguing.

Thoughts?
topflightpro is offline  
Old 12-29-15, 06:47 PM
  #2957  
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y
well that's silly.
@Ygduf fix this

50% of the time when I upload a ride with gps turned off for trainer riding it processes it as a 0-second ride. Then I select "trainer" and nothing changes. Strava is not for real training data.
Ygduf is offline  
Old 12-29-15, 07:16 PM
  #2958  
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Ygduf
Strava is not for real training data.
which is why they charge extra for more data analysis features, right?
mike868y is offline  
Old 12-29-15, 07:42 PM
  #2959  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by abhirama
Any recommendations (preferably something with a battery compartment that can be opened with a coin) for an ANT+ HR strap? The tiny little screws on the transmitting pod of my Garmin HRM got rounded and I may have to bin the thing. Considering the Wahoo Tickr.
That's what I replaced my Garmin soft strap with. It just works. No need to wet the electrodes. Good solid signal. Syncs up fine with the PC8.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 12-29-15, 07:42 PM
  #2960  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y
which is why they charge extra for more data analysis features, right?
Fudgy's in deep sarcasm mode. He's grinding an old axe.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 12-30-15, 07:03 AM
  #2961  
Senior Member
 
Wylde06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2,208

Bikes: Cannondale Six13

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked 58 Times in 21 Posts
You have to turn GPS off BEFORE you start riding, otherwise it screws everything up
Wylde06 is offline  
Old 12-30-15, 09:12 AM
  #2962  
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd
Fudgy's in deep sarcasm mode. He's grinding an old axe.
I like strava so I pay for premium, but I haven't paid attention to the difference between premium and free in years. Their PMC is garbage and always has been, unless I missed it when they rolled out periodic FTP or something significant like that which made it a non-starter. After 6 years now the newness of Strava has worn off. I still think it's worthwhile as a fun/interest/motivation thing, but all the dumb little hiccups they refuse to address are beyond any defense I'm willing to engage in.
Ygduf is offline  
Old 12-30-15, 09:22 AM
  #2963  
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I thought you were a strava "ambassador" or something?
mike868y is offline  
Old 01-01-16, 08:39 PM
  #2964  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tariffville, CT
Posts: 15,395

Bikes: Tsunami road bikes, Dolan DF4 track

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked 173 Times in 97 Posts
PSA

I've had massive problems unclipping from Look pedals while out of saddle. Only ones that didn't dump me right away were the original Keo Max Carbons (no metal plate for cleat). I haven't tried the carbon clip ones in sprints but testing other racers' pedals in parking lots etc my take is that those would dump me as well. For me they feel like they're lubricated, as soon as I torque a bit sideways my shoe unclips.

On the advice of a former Look person I got some Exustars, the Keo max copy (got the Keo Classic copy as well). He got complaints that those were hard to unclip. The Max copy, EPS-R, at 2/3 tension, are pretty tough to unclip, which is good for me. These are my new favorite pedals. This using the same shoe/cleat as on the Keo Max that I just removed off the bike earlier tonight.
__________________
"...during the Lance years, being fit became the No. 1 thing. Totally the only thing. Its a big part of what we do, but fitness is not the only thing. Theres skills, theres tactics theres all kinds of stuff..." Tim Johnson
carpediemracing is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 09:22 AM
  #2965  
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,471

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3373 Post(s)
Liked 371 Times in 253 Posts
These went to coache's bike. Junior does not like his power tracked racing. Actually coach is good because he's a PM user from way back. I'll get more detail later. Also I can compare to a PT. So give me a few weeks.
Basically he says they are good. So far they are on one bike. We may switch them to TT bike in Feb.
Doge is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 09:24 AM
  #2966  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
After a couple months of using it, I like almost everything about the Garmin 520 better than the 500. I especially like how they finally abstracted sensors away from bike profiles -- if you have multiple bikes with power meters, it is silly how many button presses it takes to switch bikes when using the 500.

One step backwards is indoor visibility though. I can't read the 520 at all indoors. Can anybody else?
globecanvas is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 10:02 AM
  #2967  
OMC
 
revchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 6,960

Bikes: Specialized Allez Sprint, Look 585, Specialized Allez Comp Race

Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked 116 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
I especially like how they finally abstracted sensors away from bike profiles -- if you have multiple bikes with power meters, it is silly how many button presses it takes to switch bikes when using the 500.
Hmmm...good to know, that is an annoyance.
__________________
Regards,
Chuck

Demain, on roule!
revchuck is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 10:52 AM
  #2968  
Version 7.0
 
Hermes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,997

Bikes: Too Many

Mentioned: 297 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1256 Post(s)
Liked 2,196 Times in 1,286 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
After a couple months of using it, I like almost everything about the Garmin 520 better than the 500. I especially like how they finally abstracted sensors away from bike profiles -- if you have multiple bikes with power meters, it is silly how many button presses it takes to switch bikes when using the 500.

One step backwards is indoor visibility though. I can't read the 520 at all indoors. Can anybody else?
I do not have the Garmin 520 but the Garmin 500, 800 and 810 all have a feature to turn on the backlight continuously. I use this feature indoors.
Hermes is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 10:57 AM
  #2969  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bay Area ,CA
Posts: 1,756

Bikes: not enough

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked 75 Times in 50 Posts
Originally Posted by Hermes
I do not have the Garmin 520 but the Garmin 500, 800 and 810 all have a feature to turn on the backlight continuously. I use this feature indoors.
correct for the 520 :. menu/settings/system/display

backlight timeout = stays on
spdntrxi is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 11:44 AM
  #2970  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 65

Bikes: Batavus

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Doge
These went to coache's bike. Junior does not like his power tracked racing. Actually coach is good because he's a PM user from way back. I'll get more detail later. Also I can compare to a PT. So give me a few weeks.
Basically he says they are good. So far they are on one bike. We may switch them to TT bike in Feb.
Alright, thanks for the reply, look forward to more later on.
Dutch Jazz is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 11:44 AM
  #2971  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by revchuck
Hmmm...good to know, that is an annoyance.
With the 520, once you have paired everything, it automatically detects whatever sensors are on whatever bike you happen to be riding. Zero button presses.


Originally Posted by Hermes
I do not have the Garmin 520 but the Garmin 500, 800 and 810 all have a feature to turn on the backlight continuously. I use this feature indoors.
Originally Posted by spdntrxi
correct for the 520 :. menu/settings/system/display

backlight timeout = stays on
Thanks!
globecanvas is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 03:55 PM
  #2972  
W**** B*
 
ancker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central IL (Chambana)
Posts: 992

Bikes: Several

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Doge
These went to coache's bike. Junior does not like his power tracked racing. Actually coach is good because he's a PM user from way back. I'll get more detail later. Also I can compare to a PT. So give me a few weeks.
Basically he says they are good. So far they are on one bike. We may switch them to TT bike in Feb.
Uhh. What? Why?

I can understand maybe not wanting to see it while racing, but why wouldn't you want it recorded?
Wouldn't you want to review the data after a race to develop a plan to address a weakness?
ancker is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 04:43 PM
  #2973  
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,471

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3373 Post(s)
Liked 371 Times in 253 Posts
Originally Posted by ancker
Uhh. What? Why?

I can understand maybe not wanting to see it while racing, but why wouldn't you want it recorded?
Wouldn't you want to review the data after a race to develop a plan to address a weakness?
I like everything recorded. Primarily so I can brag about it. He doesn't. I expressed my opinion at length in the training with power thread.
Basically:
-You don't use power to race, you race and see what comes from it.
-Weakness is seen in races, not training. He trains far below his race level. He turns his HR display off most races too (not TTs).
-He uses weights for strength training, not the bike.

He is resisting being judged on a number rather than winning. Same view for the rowing ERG. It is somewhat temperamental, but I respect that. Fact is - I don't know what his power is except the few training rides that turned into hammer fests and he had a power tap wheel on.

Part II:
There are so many that are willing to comment on weakness as they see it. It can be overwhelming. If I found he was 45%55% don't know it would be wise to fix it. I am not in favor of improving weaknesses, rather finding the strength and playing to that (got that from daughters soccer trainer). In general the weakness is - "I didn't win, so I lost".

Last edited by Doge; 01-03-16 at 04:51 PM.
Doge is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 06:47 PM
  #2974  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
9F tomorrow. Has anybody here tried Bar Mitts?
globecanvas is offline  
Old 01-03-16, 07:12 PM
  #2975  
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
jesus, you really are insane, huh?
mike868y is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.