Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Racer Tech Thread

Old 06-28-17, 10:36 AM
  #4951  
globecanvas
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Really dumb question here. Which out-front garmin mount would be the most solid for grabbing onto in IAB? The sturdy plastic one that comes with the 520 etc, or the aluminum k-edge one?
globecanvas is offline  
Old 06-28-17, 10:47 AM
  #4952  
dz_nuzz
Rides too much bike
 
dz_nuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have both and would honestly trust the Garmin one more than the K-Edge one.
dz_nuzz is offline  
Old 06-28-17, 03:14 PM
  #4953  
Ygduf
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
Really dumb question here. Which out-front garmin mount would be the most solid for grabbing onto in IAB? The sturdy plastic one that comes with the 520 etc, or the aluminum k-edge one?
cycliq out-front garmin mount and camera mount. made strong enough to support the heavy-ass headlight/camera
Ygduf is offline  
Old 06-29-17, 11:53 AM
  #4954  
globecanvas
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by dz_nuzz
I have both and would honestly trust the Garmin one more than the K-Edge one.
Well I tried to put the Garmin one on but it doesn't fit on the small round area next to the stem on aerofly handlebars. The old Barfly garmin mount I was using fits there but the circular part on the Garmin brand mount is too wide.

Is the round part on the K-Edge mount narrower than the Garmin mount?


Originally Posted by Ygduf
cycliq out-front garmin mount and camera mount. made strong enough to support the heavy-ass headlight/camera
That doesn't seem to exist yet, except as a kickstarter?
globecanvas is offline  
Old 06-29-17, 12:01 PM
  #4955  
Ygduf
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas


That doesn't seem to exist yet, except as a kickstarter?
ahh. I got them via kickstarter yeah. thought they were more widely available now though. sorry
Ygduf is offline  
Old 06-29-17, 12:14 PM
  #4956  
dz_nuzz
Rides too much bike
 
dz_nuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
Well I tried to put the Garmin one on but it doesn't fit on the small round area next to the stem on aerofly handlebars. The old Barfly garmin mount I was using fits there but the circular part on the Garmin brand mount is too wide.

Is the round part on the K-Edge mount narrower than the Garmin mount?
I also have an Aerofly and a K-edge mounted right now, so yup, it works. (Note that this is using a regular stem, I don't know if a Zipp Sprint stem would leave enough room.)

Last edited by dz_nuzz; 06-29-17 at 12:55 PM. Reason: Because Fudgy is trolling me
dz_nuzz is offline  
Old 06-29-17, 12:38 PM
  #4957  
Ygduf
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
[QUOTE=dz_nuzz;19685570]
Originally Posted by globecanvas
Well I tried to put the Garmin one on but it doesn't fit on the small round area next to the stem on aerofly handlebars. The old Barfly garmin mount I was using fits there but the circular part on the Garmin brand mount is too wide.

Is the round part on the K-Edge mount narrower than the Garmin mount?

I also have an Aerofly and a K-edge mounted right now, so yup, it works. (Note that this is using a regular stem, I don't know if a Zipp Sprint stem would leave enough room.)
all my aero bars are off-center to make room for garmin mounts, fwiw
Ygduf is offline  
Old 06-29-17, 01:33 PM
  #4958  
mattm
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,402
Mentioned: 151 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1098 Post(s)
Liked 104 Times in 30 Posts
My Zipp aero bars are centered, with the K-edge garmin/gopro mount.
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 06-29-17, 02:37 PM
  #4959  
ancker
W**** B*
 
ancker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central IL (Chambana)
Posts: 992

Bikes: Several

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Before I bought a mount that replaces the bottom stem bolts, I had a BarFly mount that I just dremelled until it fit properly on my Giant Aero SLR bars.

I'm not sure I'd trust either as an anchor for IAB.

Due to sweaty everything and lack of bartape on the aero tops, I rarely use IAB for fear of death.
ancker is offline  
Old 06-29-17, 03:29 PM
  #4960  
miyata man
Senior Member
 
miyata man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
Really dumb question here. Which out-front garmin mount would be the most solid for grabbing onto in IAB? The sturdy plastic one that comes with the 520 etc, or the aluminum k-edge one?
Thinking too small here, commit. I took the liberty of reaching out to Jones about fabricating a road going drop bar version of his "Narwhal" with your email address as the desired place to direct a response. If I might be frank, you can sit on this all you want without worry of it snapping off. It should hold you up no matter the level of abuse.

miyata man is offline  
Old 06-29-17, 03:42 PM
  #4961  
Ygduf
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
what's going on with the tubing coming off the steerer spacer there?
Ygduf is offline  
Old 06-29-17, 05:40 PM
  #4962  
mattm
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,402
Mentioned: 151 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1098 Post(s)
Liked 104 Times in 30 Posts
what's going on with 100% of that
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 06-29-17, 09:49 PM
  #4963  
globecanvas
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
[QUOTE=Ygduf;19685618]
Originally Posted by dz_nuzz

all my aero bars are off-center to make room for garmin mounts, fwiw
That doesn't bug you at all?
globecanvas is offline  
Old 06-30-17, 08:38 AM
  #4964  
Ygduf
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
[QUOTE=globecanvas;19686640]
Originally Posted by Ygduf

That doesn't bug you at all?
no - never notice or think about it outside of when initially setting the bars up.
Ygduf is offline  
Old 06-30-17, 08:55 AM
  #4965  
miyata man
Senior Member
 
miyata man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm
what's going on with 100% of that
Exactly, what is up with using your computer mount as a structural piece of your handlebar? That sort of crap is for the touring/brovet crowd.

Lest I remind those of you who have been around awhile about these little ornaments of equally questionable legality in a mass start race.

miyata man is offline  
Old 06-30-17, 09:04 AM
  #4966  
TheKillerPenguin
Nonsense
 
TheKillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 13,906

Bikes: Affirmative

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 873 Post(s)
Liked 523 Times in 226 Posts
I would use my computer mount but it's kind of a bleh shape for it (edge 520) and I would be afraid of ripping it off the handlebar.
TheKillerPenguin is offline  
Old 06-30-17, 12:37 PM
  #4967  
miyata man
Senior Member
 
miyata man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ygduf
what's going on with the tubing coming off the steerer spacer there?
Sorry I missed this. If we are both looking at the bolted on polished metal piece betwixt stem and HS top cap it is a proprietary structural mount for the front rack.

Hopefully GC didn't think I was being too hard on him to make a very sensible safety related point. IAB at least offers nothing to physically hold onto that would delay the correct decision to return to the hoods in an emergency. Or worse cause bodily injury neatly endoing into a pile of crashed riders.
miyata man is offline  
Old 06-30-17, 12:50 PM
  #4968  
mattm
**** that
 
mattm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CALI
Posts: 15,402
Mentioned: 151 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1098 Post(s)
Liked 104 Times in 30 Posts
Originally Posted by TheKillerPenguin
I would use my computer mount but it's kind of a bleh shape for it (edge 520) and I would be afraid of ripping it off the handlebar.
Mine works ok as an IAB anchor.
__________________
cat 1.

my race videos
mattm is offline  
Old 06-30-17, 08:07 PM
  #4969  
Ttoc6
Cat 2
 
Ttoc6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: UT
Posts: 1,570

Bikes: Tarmac, Why Cycles R+, Evil The Calling

Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 605 Post(s)
Liked 194 Times in 87 Posts
Originally Posted by mattm
Mine works ok as an IAB anchor.
I've done it with my 500 mount on a short barfly and long (double) barfly. Didn't find either of them very comfortable. I started interlacing my hands (which I do on aerobars too) and lifting my hands up a bit towards my face. I've also gravitated to putting my forearms a bit further up on the bars so I have more arm out over the front wheel. Seems to be pretty fast and getting better every time I've been using it.

I imagine a bigger computer (1000 and elemnt) might be better, but I still prefer to have more arms out there as it feels like that narrows my shoulders more.
Ttoc6 is offline  
Old 06-30-17, 09:07 PM
  #4970  
spdntrxi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bay Area ,CA
Posts: 1,753

Bikes: not enough

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked 75 Times in 50 Posts
Originally Posted by Ttoc6
I've done it with my 500 mount on a short barfly and long (double) barfly. Didn't find either of them very comfortable. I started interlacing my hands (which I do on aerobars too) and lifting my hands up a bit towards my face. I've also gravitated to putting my forearms a bit further up on the bars so I have more arm out over the front wheel. Seems to be pretty fast and getting better every time I've been using it.

I imagine a bigger computer (1000 and elemnt) might be better, but I still prefer to have more arms out there as it feels like that narrows my shoulders more.
I use the 820 now... indeed the 1000 is better suited for IAB support... but the 820 works
spdntrxi is offline  
Old 06-30-17, 09:42 PM
  #4971  
jsk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 606

Bikes: Trek Madone, Blue Triad SL, Dixie Flyer BTB

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ttoc6
I've done it with my 500 mount on a short barfly and long (double) barfly. Didn't find either of them very comfortable. I started interlacing my hands (which I do on aerobars too) and lifting my hands up a bit towards my face. I've also gravitated to putting my forearms a bit further up on the bars so I have more arm out over the front wheel. Seems to be pretty fast and getting better every time I've been using it.

I imagine a bigger computer (1000 and elemnt) might be better, but I still prefer to have more arms out there as it feels like that narrows my shoulders more.
Reading some of these posts makes me think I must do IAB differently than most, because even with an Edge 1000, I don't see any use for it in supporting IAB. My hands are in front of the Garmin and trying to put my hands on it would be really awkward and frankly less stable. My forearms contact the handlebar about 2/3-3/4 of the way back to the elbow when I'm in IAB.
jsk is offline  
Old 07-01-17, 12:27 AM
  #4972  
aaronmcd
Senior Member
 
aaronmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 3,462

Bikes: Cervelo S5, Marin Gestalt X11

Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked 65 Times in 45 Posts
Originally Posted by jsk
Reading some of these posts makes me think I must do IAB differently than most, because even with an Edge 1000, I don't see any use for it in supporting IAB. My hands are in front of the Garmin and trying to put my hands on it would be really awkward and frankly less stable. My forearms contact the handlebar about 2/3-3/4 of the way back to the elbow when I'm in IAB.
Same here, and also I never feel a desire to grab something.
aaronmcd is offline  
Old 07-01-17, 06:02 AM
  #4973  
rubiksoval
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Music City, USA
Posts: 4,444

Bikes: bikes

Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2622 Post(s)
Liked 1,429 Times in 711 Posts
I stopped doing IAB when I put the aeronovas on. That bar cups my forearms quite a bit inside the hoods, and I just hook my pinkie over the hoods or down below on the levers. Feel like it's pretty similar, and I can still go through shallow turns and curves without having to move out of them (the four failed times I've done it this year).
rubiksoval is offline  
Old 07-02-17, 07:06 PM
  #4974  
Ttoc6
Cat 2
 
Ttoc6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: UT
Posts: 1,570

Bikes: Tarmac, Why Cycles R+, Evil The Calling

Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 605 Post(s)
Liked 194 Times in 87 Posts
Working an idea in my head. I have a Carbon aero road frame I want to build back up as a crit / flat road race bike. Don't want to think about using this bike where brakes are necessary as I really don't like the pseudo-proprietary braking set up it has.

Can you use di2 sprint shifters without the standard brakelevers? I would run a 11speed rear derailleur, etubes, a 3 port junction box and sprint shifters on the inside of the drops. Maybe a climbing shifter as well. I would then use some standard brake levers that I've got laying around somewhere. A 50 (maybe bigger idk) tooth front ring with an 11x28 casette.

Am I missing anything, would this work? I mean technically work, not work in state of "is this good to race."
Ttoc6 is offline  
Old 07-02-17, 08:53 PM
  #4975  
jsk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 606

Bikes: Trek Madone, Blue Triad SL, Dixie Flyer BTB

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can you use di2 sprint shifters without the standard brakelevers?
No, the sprint shifters plug into the brake levers using a connection that's different from the standard E-Tube plug even though it looks very similar.
jsk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.