Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Racer Tech Thread

Old 07-14-15, 05:39 PM
  #2176  
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd
My 800 does too, but only at the start of the ride. I hit stop while waiting for the group ride to start.
auto-pause, bro, auto-pause. isn't there a checkbox for repeat notifications of movement detected or what not?

Anyway, the pioneer just keeps being annoying every 30 secnds or so if you're moving and not recording. I feel like that's pretty standard now.
Ygduf is offline  
Old 07-14-15, 05:46 PM
  #2177  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I don't like auto pause. It's annoying. What is prefer is repeating the same check sequence after a stop longer than x minutes or what SRM does, and records upon sensing that, you know, you're riding.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-14-15, 09:16 PM
  #2178  
Senior Member
 
furiousferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 6,313
Liked 469 Times in 250 Posts
Funny this is brought up. Lost about 10 miles of data today and 20 last week hitting stop at some point during the ride and not starting it. The Garmin 1000 has a red outline when its in stop mode but its hard to see. Think I'm going to try the auto pause thing.
furiousferret is offline  
Old 07-15-15, 05:26 AM
  #2179  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Auto-pause is no good if you ride steep or switchbacky trails, too. I just never stop the Garmin when I stop during a ride. There's no reason to afaict.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 07-15-15, 05:55 AM
  #2180  
Senior Member
 
canuckbelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 944

Bikes: Scott Foil 10, Di2

Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Wahoo Kickr + TrainerRoad = epic workouts.
canuckbelle is offline  
Old 07-15-15, 06:39 AM
  #2181  
W**** B*
 
ancker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central IL (Chambana)
Posts: 992

Bikes: Several

Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by globecanvas
Auto-pause is no good if you ride steep or switchbacky trails, too. I just never stop the Garmin when I stop during a ride. There's no reason to afaict.
I set my auto-pause to a custom speed of 1mph. I think you can go even lower than that.
I doubt you're moving slower than 1mph (1.5 ft/s) on even the steepest climb....but maybe I'm wrong.
ancker is offline  
Old 07-15-15, 06:41 AM
  #2182  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bay Area ,CA
Posts: 1,766

Bikes: not enough

Liked 88 Times in 54 Posts
I set mine to 2.5mph... if I'm going slower then that... time to walk.
spdntrxi is offline  
Old 07-15-15, 06:56 AM
  #2183  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by ancker
I set my auto-pause to a custom speed of 1mph. I think you can go even lower than that.
I doubt you're moving slower than 1mph (1.5 ft/s) on even the steepest climb....but maybe I'm wrong.

It will still fail on switchbacky trails. I think the GPS accuracy is the limiter, not the minimum speed setting. You can spend a lot of time within say 20' of the same point while still moving.

I just never saw the point of auto-pause. Any software (GC, WKO, Strava, etc, even Garmin) will calculate average power, speed, etc using moving time anyway, not elapsed time.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 07-15-15, 07:07 AM
  #2184  
OMC
 
revchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 6,960

Bikes: Specialized Allez Sprint, Look 585, Specialized Allez Comp Race

Liked 116 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by tetonrider
wheel builder is good option for that. pretty much as aero as a disc...if you can deal with the hassle of swapping it on and off. sounds like for you it is for a dedicated bike, so the one drawback is a non-issue.

not legal in any event where UCI regs apply (like nationals), but that is probably also a non-issue.
I went ahead and ordered them, along with the spare hardware. Now I just need to do the crankset swap and order tires for the 303s to replace the nasty Gatorskins on them.
__________________
Regards,
Chuck

Demain, on roule!
revchuck is offline  
Old 07-15-15, 07:11 AM
  #2185  
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by revchuck
I went ahead and ordered them, along with the spare hardware. Now I just need to do the crankset swap and order tires for the 303s to replace the nasty Gatorskins on them.

The wheelbuilder disc covers are nice, I expect you will be pleased with it. I had one for a powertap wheel that I eventually sold with the wheel.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 07-16-15, 12:30 PM
  #2186  
W**** B*
 
ancker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central IL (Chambana)
Posts: 992

Bikes: Several

Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by globecanvas
The wheelbuilder disc covers are nice, I expect you will be pleased with it. I had one for a powertap wheel that I eventually sold with the wheel.
I've been considering doing something similar to what this guy did. Mine would be used only for TTs and I'd use my November carbon powertap wheelset, so I'd probably change it up slightly to make it easier to take off an on whenever I needed. (as in no duct taping to spokes)

A Midwest Trilife: DIY Aero Wheel Cover Tutorial
ancker is offline  
Old 07-16-15, 01:01 PM
  #2187  
Senior Member
 
Duke of Kent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 4,850

Bikes: Yeti ASRc, Focus Raven 29er, Flyxii FR316

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
It will still fail on switchbacky trails. I think the GPS accuracy is the limiter, not the minimum speed setting. You can spend a lot of time within say 20' of the same point while still moving.

I just never saw the point of auto-pause. Any software (GC, WKO, Strava, etc, even Garmin) will calculate average power, speed, etc using moving time anyway, not elapsed time.
When I first started using my 500 (bought from a friend on Optum) it was set for 5mph. As a result, my first week of riding, which should have seen some KOMs or high placings on Strava, was rather frustrating; it was "rounding off" all of the tight switchback turns. I hit one climb in a faster overall time, based on my wrist watch, then I ever had, but my 500 was reading about 30s faster for that interval. Got home, uploaded the data, not a single segment recognized.

Blah. Now, only when I'm stopped does auto-pause engage.

Last edited by Duke of Kent; 07-16-15 at 01:30 PM.
Duke of Kent is offline  
Old 07-16-15, 06:39 PM
  #2188  
Senior Member
 
wens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,215
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Have access to a really good deal on a quarq. Not interested in an srm.

What's the difference between a riken, Elsa, and red quarq?
wens is offline  
Old 07-16-15, 07:05 PM
  #2189  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red is older technology. Riken is the heavier new technology. Elsa is lighter and I believe more precise technology.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-17-15, 07:14 PM
  #2190  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,201

Bikes: 2017 Raleigh RX 1.0, 2018 Specialized Allez

Liked 634 Times in 338 Posts
New bePRO pedal-based power meter costs £347 | road.cc

anyone see this? Apparently it's on DC rainmakers queue as well. Wonder if there'll be any way to get this product in the U.S. Market
hubcyclist is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 05:01 PM
  #2191  
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
so...if my 10speed shifter broke (the paddle was all messed up in the middle of the race today, started working at the end, but i don't have high hopes for long-term reliability...) is it worth replacing at this point or should i just get 105 11s from the UK? I already have the crank and I don't think I'd need brakes? my road wheels are 11s compatible.
mike868y is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 05:05 PM
  #2192  
Senior Member
 
grolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BOSTON BABY
Posts: 9,789
Liked 86 Times in 60 Posts
Go 11. I'm almost certainly going to Rival 22 on my road bike next month and swapping the 10s stuff over to the cross bike.
grolby is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 05:10 PM
  #2193  
Nonsense
 
TheKillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 13,918

Bikes: Affirmative

Liked 541 Times in 237 Posts
I forget, you said you're using SRAM right? If so if your shifters are 2 years old or younger they'll replace it for free as I'm pretty sure this is a known issue for them. The serial number should be on the inside of the brake lever, bring it to your local bike shop and let them know what's up. That said if you're looking for an excuse to go 11spd go for it.
TheKillerPenguin is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 05:36 PM
  #2194  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think this at least the third round of replacement for Mikey.

Go Shimano 11. Works great.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 05:46 PM
  #2195  
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
sram 10s red mechanical. ~40k miles and still going strong.
Ygduf is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 05:58 PM
  #2196  
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
This shifter is shimano. I must shift like an ape because I've broken 3 or 4 rival shifters and now 2 ultegras. Can anyone confirm that 10s shimano brakes work with 11s shifters? Not sure why they wouldn't. Also, could I go super cheap and keep the same front dérailleur?
mike868y is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 06:09 PM
  #2197  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It will work but it may not be optimal. Do you know the series (6700, etc.)?
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 06:24 PM
  #2198  
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Currently on 6700 brakes, shifters, and rd. 7900 fd. 11s ultegra level crank (6800?)
mike868y is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 06:31 PM
  #2199  
OMC
 
revchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 6,960

Bikes: Specialized Allez Sprint, Look 585, Specialized Allez Comp Race

Liked 116 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y
This shifter is shimano. I must shift like an ape because I've broken 3 or 4 rival shifters and now 2 ultegras. Can anyone confirm that 10s shimano brakes work with 11s shifters? Not sure why they wouldn't. Also, could I go super cheap and keep the same front dérailleur?
What shovel said. My bike came with 5800 105 but generic brakes; I replaced them with 5800 105 brakes and noticed the improvement, believe there's a difference in leverage. And yeah, you must shift like an ape.
__________________
Regards,
Chuck

Demain, on roule!
revchuck is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 06:39 PM
  #2200  
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The 5800/6800/9000 brake calipers are dual pivot, which gives more leverage for the same lever ratio. I suggest that you add 5800 or 6800 calipers if you go with 6800 levers.
shovelhd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.