Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Racer Tech Thread

Old 07-18-15, 07:53 PM
  #2201  
grolby
Senior Member
 
grolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BOSTON BABY
Posts: 9,778
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked 80 Times in 56 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y
This shifter is shimano. I must shift like an ape because I've broken 3 or 4 rival shifters and now 2 ultegras. Can anyone confirm that 10s shimano brakes work with 11s shifters? Not sure why they wouldn't. Also, could I go super cheap and keep the same front dérailleur?
I broke 6700 shifters. Never broken Rival. I doubt it means anything though.
grolby is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 07:57 PM
  #2202  
Doge
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,466

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3369 Post(s)
Liked 370 Times in 252 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y
This shifter is shimano. I must shift like an ape because I've broken 3 or 4 rival shifters and now 2 ultegras. Can anyone confirm that 10s shimano brakes work with 11s shifters? Not sure why they wouldn't. Also, could I go super cheap and keep the same front dérailleur?
Work - yes. But they are not the same. The throw is a wee different. I'm sure you are asking about shifting, but the brakes (9000) are also different - but you can still stop.
Doge is offline  
Old 07-18-15, 10:15 PM
  #2203  
tetonrider
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,449
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y
This shifter is shimano. I must shift like an ape because I've broken 3 or 4 rival shifters and now 2 ultegras. Can anyone confirm that 10s shimano brakes work with 11s shifters? Not sure why they wouldn't. Also, could I go super cheap and keep the same front dérailleur?
sorry to hear about your issues.

short answer: you're golden with 9000 or 6800 levers and 6700 calipers.

longer: there used to be an issues with mixing-and-matching between two generations of TEN speed levers and calipers (6700/6600; 7900/7800). newer levers with older calipers had a little less power; older levers with newer calipers had the power but lost the feel (a bit).

when we're talking about ELEVEN speed levers (9000 or 6800) with TEN speed calipers (7900/6700), there is no issue at all. leverage ratio is the same.

shimano, who are notoriously super conservative, even declare it as fully cross-compatible.

Originally Posted by Doge
Work - yes. But they are not the same. The throw is a wee different. I'm sure you are asking about shifting, but the brakes (9000) are also different - but you can still stop.
he is asking about new levers with older calipers, it appears.
tetonrider is offline  
Old 07-19-15, 03:23 AM
  #2204  
mike868y
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ah, yeah I remember hearing about the 10s issues which is why I asked. Thanks Teton. Now to scour the webs for a cheap 11s group.
mike868y is offline  
Old 07-19-15, 11:58 AM
  #2205  
Heathpack 
Has a magic bike
 
Heathpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12,590

Bikes: 2018 Scott Spark, 2015 Fuji Norcom Straight, 2014 BMC GF01, 2013 Trek Madone

Mentioned: 699 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4456 Post(s)
Liked 425 Times in 157 Posts
Hey @Doge

pulse ox monitor for $30



https://www.groupon.com/deals/gg-sma...b6026334749243

PM me if you're interested and this link doesn't work, I'm trying to do this from my phone.

No idea of the quality of this unit. One of my nurses sent me the link. We had been playing with our pulse ox one day and talking about cycling applications. She remembered that and saw this link and sent it to me.
Heathpack is offline  
Old 07-19-15, 04:59 PM
  #2206  
grolby
Senior Member
 
grolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BOSTON BABY
Posts: 9,778
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked 80 Times in 56 Posts
Among the things I undertook today was overhauling the FD and RD on my cyclocross bike. Yeah. A lot of those pivots are apparently none too fond of a winter of snow riding followed by a failure to lubricate. But it is a PITA, and getting one of those pivots back together on the FD was almost impossible. And now I still have seized limit screws and seized SPD cleat bolts to deal with. Sigh. It never ends. I need a Dremel.
grolby is offline  
Old 07-19-15, 05:56 PM
  #2207  
Ygduf
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
someone develop a CVT drivetrain now that they are electronic anyway.
Ygduf is offline  
Old 07-19-15, 07:00 PM
  #2208  
hubcyclist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,178

Bikes: 2017 Raleigh RX 1.0, 2018 Specialized Allez

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked 608 Times in 322 Posts
Finally changed my small chainring from the 42 that came with my crank to 38, although I doubt that would have been a huge help yesterday on the really steep one
hubcyclist is offline  
Old 07-19-15, 09:15 PM
  #2209  
Doge
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,466

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3369 Post(s)
Liked 370 Times in 252 Posts
Originally Posted by Heathpack
Hey @Doge

pulse ox monitor for $30



https://www.groupon.com/deals/gg-sma...b6026334749243

PM me if you're interested and this link doesn't work, I'm trying to do this from my phone.

No idea of the quality of this unit. One of my nurses sent me the link. We had been playing with our pulse ox one day and talking about cycling applications. She remembered that and saw this link and sent it to me.
I've purchased about 5 different ones and they all seem to work about as well - for the purpose of seeing what is happening in the 90s.
Doge is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 05:36 AM
  #2210  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Teton continues to send bad Garmin karma my way . On yesterday's ride, towards the end, I noticed that power was reading zero. A quick stomp would move the needle but it went right back to zero. Cadence was fine so not a magnet issue. I clean out the memory on the 800 every three months, due in a week. So I pulled over and rebooted it, and all was well from that point on, but I lost a lot of data.

The PC8 is now on my radar screen.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 05:44 AM
  #2211  
topflightpro
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,557
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1849 Post(s)
Liked 667 Times in 421 Posts
I took apart the broken bike this weekend. I knew I had a small crack in one of my RD pulleys. Turns out that small crack was actually a very large crack. The sprockets popped right off the bearing.

So I am either going to replace the whole RD or just the pulleys. Does anyone see any reason why I couldn't put the Sram Force/Rival pulleys on a Red RD? The Red pulleys have the ceramic bearings and cost $120. The Force/Rival pulleys are $15.
topflightpro is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 05:51 AM
  #2212  
globecanvas
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by shovelhd
Teton continues to send bad Garmin karma my way . On yesterday's ride, towards the end, I noticed that power was reading zero. A quick stomp would move the needle but it went right back to zero. Cadence was fine so not a magnet issue. I clean out the memory on the 800 every three months, due in a week. So I pulled over and rebooted it, and all was well from that point on, but I lost a lot of data.

The PC8 is now on my radar screen.

It seems like the emptier the Garmin memory is, the better it behaves. I download and delete rides daily fwiw.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 05:53 AM
  #2213  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by topflightpro
I took apart the broken bike this weekend. I knew I had a small crack in one of my RD pulleys. Turns out that small crack was actually a very large crack. The sprockets popped right off the bearing.

So I am either going to replace the whole RD or just the pulleys. Does anyone see any reason why I couldn't put the Sram Force/Rival pulleys on a Red RD? The Red pulleys have the ceramic bearings and cost $120. The Force/Rival pulleys are $15.
I see 105 reasons.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 05:56 AM
  #2214  
topflightpro
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,557
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1849 Post(s)
Liked 667 Times in 421 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd
I see 105 reasons.
At first, I read this as a suggestion that I should switch to Shimano 105.
topflightpro is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 05:56 AM
  #2215  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas
It seems like the emptier the Garmin memory is, the better it behaves. I download and delete rides daily fwiw.
Three months has been working for me, but then there are these outlier cases that happen every now and then. Why would a reboot clear up a storage issue? I make fun of Teton for his tenacity on this subject, but it is rooted in fact, and it does have an impact.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 05:57 AM
  #2216  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by topflightpro
At first, I read this as a suggestion that I should switch to Shimano 105.
That's a very good idea, but not what I was getting at.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 07:26 AM
  #2217  
mike868y
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
i think my shifter healed itself overnight.
mike868y is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 09:01 AM
  #2218  
revchuck 
OMC
 
revchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 6,960

Bikes: Specialized Allez Sprint, Look 585, Specialized Allez Comp Race

Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked 116 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by topflightpro
At first, I read this as a suggestion that I should switch to Shimano 105.
IMO, 5800 105 feels like 7800 DA, but with nicer hoods and an additional speed.

Originally Posted by globecanvas
It seems like the emptier the Garmin memory is, the better it behaves. I download and delete rides daily fwiw.
My 500 dropped power and cadence for about five seconds in the middle of an interval this morning. It only has about a month's worth of rides on it, but I guess it's time to delete the history again.
__________________
Regards,
Chuck

Demain, on roule!
revchuck is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 09:42 AM
  #2219  
AMFJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
If I track stand at a red light my Garmin 500 stops recording power until I coast for about 30 seconds, and then it picks it back up. Cadence continues to work. Just power.

Trying to decide if the PC8 provides enough additional features to justify buying it over a PC7 that can be had for under $300 now.
AMFJ is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 09:54 AM
  #2220  
grolby
Senior Member
 
grolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BOSTON BABY
Posts: 9,778
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked 80 Times in 56 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y
i think my shifter healed itself overnight.
Or the little plastic piece that had snapped and was clogging it up dropped out, and it technically works but the shift action is now mushy. Happened to me last year. The little plastic guide holding the downshift prong on the inside of the lever broke, and while the lever unjammed, the shifting feel was permanently degraded.
grolby is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 10:12 AM
  #2221  
mike868y
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
maybe, idk, shifting feels fine to me.
mike868y is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 10:30 AM
  #2222  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by AMFJ
If I track stand at a red light my Garmin 500 stops recording power until I coast for about 30 seconds, and then it picks it back up. Cadence continues to work. Just power.

Trying to decide if the PC8 provides enough additional features to justify buying it over a PC7 that can be had for under $300 now.
The PC7 won't work with the Stages I have on my second bike. I want to use the PC8 for both, plus that crank gives me a compact option on the race bike.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 10:32 AM
  #2223  
TheKillerPenguin
Nonsense
 
TheKillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 13,906

Bikes: Affirmative

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 873 Post(s)
Liked 523 Times in 226 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y
maybe, idk, shifting feels fine to me.
Could it be eating the cable? Shimano shifters like to do that and back when I rode with ultegra that sort of day to day shifting inconsistency was one of the symptoms.
TheKillerPenguin is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 10:45 AM
  #2224  
grolby
Senior Member
 
grolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BOSTON BABY
Posts: 9,778
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked 80 Times in 56 Posts
Originally Posted by TheKillerPenguin
Could it be eating the cable? Shimano shifters like to do that and back when I rode with ultegra that sort of day to day shifting inconsistency was one of the symptoms.
Didn't think of that. Yeah, I had an unpleasant run in 2012 with bad shifting, it would be practically impossible to downshift one day, fine the next. 6700 was not Shimano's best work.
grolby is offline  
Old 07-20-15, 11:01 AM
  #2225  
Duke of Kent
Senior Member
 
Duke of Kent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 4,850

Bikes: Yeti ASRc, Focus Raven 29er, Flyxii FR316

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by grolby
Didn't think of that. Yeah, I had an unpleasant run in 2012 with bad shifting, it would be practically impossible to downshift one day, fine the next. 6700 was not Shimano's best work.
Shimano shifters like new cables, often.
Duke of Kent is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.