Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Racer Tech Thread

Old 07-23-15, 06:11 AM
  #2251  
grolby
Senior Member
 
grolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BOSTON BABY
Posts: 9,761
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked 71 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd
Mac first. No Windows yet. Bah.
Now you see how the other half used to live!
grolby is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 08:11 AM
  #2252  
Ygduf
\_(ツ)_/
 
Ygduf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 10,978

Bikes: aggressive agreement is what I ride.

Mentioned: 109 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
someone just publish out the new e-wang chart.
Ygduf is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 11:47 AM
  #2253  
Doge
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,438

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3353 Post(s)
Liked 366 Times in 248 Posts
Originally Posted by hack
So, got a Zipp 900 for the TT bike (yay). I put an 11-23 ultegra 6700 cassette w/1mm spacer on it last night, but there was some play. So, added a second 1mm spacer and still had play. Added a third 1mm spacer and that eliminated the play. Seems like a lot of spacers to me. The wheel is a 2012 and SHOULD be a 9/10 and the hub doesn't have the "11-speed" markings like I see on Zipps website. So ...anyone else ever find themselves adding way more spacers than initially thought?
We have one of those 2011 I think. It is a 10 speed and hadn't really noticed it was much different than other 10 speed freewheels.

And what you did not ask - FWIW:
I can cram an 11 (one piece) on there, but there are just not enough turns on the lock ring to use it. It would not take much to mill (if you have a mill handy) out a one piece 11sp to work. I could not find an 11 spd freewheel for the Zipp to upgrade it. I did find one for both the Easton and Power tap and changed them out. If you find an 11spd freewheel - I'd like to know. So - I posted before - I just removed the big cog from the Miche Supertype 11 and I have 10 speed with 11 speed spacing. Seems to work fine. Shovelhd said you can also remove the cog from any Shimano and get the same result (10 speed with 11 speed spacing) except you are missing a gear..
Doge is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 11:52 AM
  #2254  
topflightpro
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,541
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1843 Post(s)
Liked 662 Times in 416 Posts
Doge, could you not use this cassette: Reynolds Cycling
topflightpro is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 11:57 AM
  #2255  
furiousferret
Senior Member
 
furiousferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 6,310
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 841 Post(s)
Liked 467 Times in 248 Posts
I've been debated whether or not to take my bike to Girona this March, but I'm leaning towards it. The town has a lot of good rental places for road bikes but still a rental != your bike.

Those of you that fly with bikes, what cases do you recommend?
furiousferret is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 12:06 PM
  #2256  
Wylde06
Senior Member
 
Wylde06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2,208

Bikes: Cannondale Six13

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked 58 Times in 21 Posts
Originally Posted by furiousferret
I've been debated whether or not to take my bike to Girona this March, but I'm leaning towards it. The town has a lot of good rental places for road bikes but still a rental != your bike.

Those of you that fly with bikes, what cases do you recommend?

Its huge and weighs a ton..but I rented a Trico Iron case from my LBS when I flew to Tulsa last year. That thing is awesome. You will definitely have to pay when they see you lug that thing in, but it was super secure with how the foam inside the case is.

Tricosports
Wylde06 is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 12:28 PM
  #2257  
Doge
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,438

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3353 Post(s)
Liked 366 Times in 248 Posts
Originally Posted by furiousferret
I've been debated whether or not to take my bike to Girona this March, but I'm leaning towards it. The town has a lot of good rental places for road bikes but still a rental != your bike.

Those of you that fly with bikes, what cases do you recommend?
Rent a bike. But that is not what you asked.

That Team hard case from Performance Bike we got for $259 last month. Best deal. I also have a Bikend. I'm flying with BOTH right now. If you take some Euro trains they also have size limits more strict than many airlines - or the Eurostar does.


If you are going to Spain for anything but racing - rent. It is not as good as your bike, but pretty good.
Daniel did over Christmas/NY break - on a rental from Claudio. You may find GMR as epic as many of the routes, although you will see pro tour guys doing at least the start of this route. https://www.strava.com/activities/234888667
PM me if you want more details.

Anyway contact:
Claudio Montefusco <claudio.montefusco@gmail.com>
https://www.strava.com/athletes/594803

Tell him Daniel's dad sent you (or Doge) and you may get some free wine.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg
Claudio.jpg (93.0 KB, 48 views)
Doge is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 12:38 PM
  #2258  
dz_nuzz
Rides too much bike
 
dz_nuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I used to use a Pika Packworks and now use a Orucase (AKA Bike Ninja). Just used the Orucase last week when I flew to Denver and back.

I have yet to have anything bad happen to my bikes yet but that is always a worry with any soft sided case. The advantage though is that roughly 50% of the time I have flown with the Pika I have avoided fees and so far the Orucase has a 100% 'avoidance of fees' average (But that is only one "trip", although it was me and the SO which equates to seeing 4 "trips" with zero fees). The airline people seem to pick up that they are bikes (despite my answering the question as to the contents with "Trade show display"). But it seems like the smaller and lighter the bags are the more likely they are to decide that gouging you for 150$-200$ is a dick move.
dz_nuzz is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 12:50 PM
  #2259  
save10
Arrogant Roadie Punk
 
save10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,353
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by dz_nuzz
Orucase (AKA Bike Ninja). .
its weird...the website has nothing about how you actually pack the bike in the bag
save10 is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 12:51 PM
  #2260  
Doge
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,438

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3353 Post(s)
Liked 366 Times in 248 Posts
More...
There are a number of bags that advertise lack of disassembly as a feature. That normally means some part is sticking out. Expect to remove bars, RD. You should.
Bikend takes two wheel sets and fits in MY trunk. It is my fav single bag because of versatility, not protection. The wheels are near the outside, but in some 8 or so flights - no issue. I still like the hard case better, it just does not carry as much and will NOT fit in my trunk. We are also carrying a disk and I put the TT bike in the Team. The TriAll3 is just too heavy and big. I don't use it. Some airlines give a 50# limit and both the others can meet this.

More pictures.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
TriAll3Sm.jpg (97.7 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg
TeamCaseSm.jpg (105.4 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg
BikeNdInTrunkSM.jpg (100.5 KB, 30 views)
Doge is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 01:01 PM
  #2261  
Doge
Senior Member
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 10,438

Bikes: 1979 Raleigh Team 753

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3353 Post(s)
Liked 366 Times in 248 Posts
Originally Posted by dz_nuzz
... I have avoided fees and so far the Orucase has a 100% 'avoidance of fees' average (But that is only one "trip", although it was me and the SO which equates to seeing 4 "trips" with zero fees). The airline people seem to pick up that they are bikes (despite my answering the question as to the contents with "Trade show display"). But it seems like the smaller and lighter the bags are the more likely they are to decide that gouging you for 150$-200$ is a dick move.
You bring up a good point.
FEES.
Some airlines will count the bike as a Bag - BA, Luthansa, and some charge - $200/bag/each way ($1,200 so far this year on junior). For our team and roughly 10 bikes we flew (no damage) this trip. Thing is the other airlines cost us about $800 more for the ticket than United. So these days you have to read all the stuff on sizes, weight, carry-on etc.
Some airports will not take bikes and some planes - may not. I expect you are flying LAX-BCN, so I doubt that is an issue, but it can be in regional airports. We took Bo's bag after Nationals to SFO as the CRJ door would not handle his bike from Reno.

Just Rent.
Doge is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 01:20 PM
  #2262  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a Thule Round Trip Pro. I want to ride my bike, and I want it there intact. Fees are secondary to me.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 01:32 PM
  #2263  
dz_nuzz
Rides too much bike
 
dz_nuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd
Fees are secondary to me.
For good or for bad I am not at the stage of my life where I have loads of disposable income.
dz_nuzz is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 04:11 PM
  #2264  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Neither do I. However flying somewhere with my bike is a special event. I save my pennies for those. Scamming the system is not one of my priorities. I'd rather the airline know what I have in the case and declare it as such.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 04:22 PM
  #2265  
globecanvas
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have the Thule round trip as well. The case is practically indestructible, but TSA always opens it and leaves it less carefully packed and buttoned up, which is a bummer. I say the case contains bike parts, sometimes I get charged a flat bike fee, sometimes an oversize fee, sometimes no fee, sometimes different amounts on different legs of the same trip, seems to entirely depend on the mood of the check-in agent.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 07-23-15, 05:23 PM
  #2266  
bostongarden
meow
 
bostongarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hint: check out my BF name
Posts: 5,830

Bikes: 2016 Parlee Altum, 2013 Cannondale Super Six Evo Hi Mod Di2 only, 2011 Cannondale Super Six, Dura Ace 7800, 2007 Cannondale System Six Dura Ace 7800, 1992 Bridgestone RB-1, MB-2, MB-3, MB-5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by furiousferret
I've been debated whether or not to take my bike to Girona this March, but I'm leaning towards it. The town has a lot of good rental places for road bikes but still a rental != your bike.

Those of you that fly with bikes, what cases do you recommend?
I have a Trico Iron case. So far, so good after 6 years of use -- Craigslist special for $100. Fees for international travel will vary by airline. When i went to France in 2010 there was no fee on Aer Lingus. About a year or two later, my son had no bike fee into Amsterdam and no fee when returning from Barcelona. I don't recall which airlines he flew. Maybe British Air.

I've rented the Thule case; it is nice
bostongarden is offline  
Old 07-24-15, 10:39 AM
  #2267  
abhirama
Senior Member
 
abhirama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: India.
Posts: 299

Bikes: Canyon Aeroad, Ridley Fenix

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This is 41ish.

Does anyone have experience with fitting a BB386 crankset (this) on a frame with a PF86 BB (BB dimensions: 41.0 x 86.5mm)? I will be getting a new frame with that BB and thought it might be a good idea to make sure that this crankset will indeed be compatible with the new frame. Will this adapter make it happen?
abhirama is offline  
Old 07-24-15, 10:47 AM
  #2268  
save10
Arrogant Roadie Punk
 
save10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,353
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by bostongarden
Fees for international travel will vary by airline.
also the OP may have a credit card that has an airline incidentals allowance. that may offset some fees
save10 is offline  
Old 07-24-15, 11:09 AM
  #2269  
mike868y
Senior Member
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9,284
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
what the hell is bb386?!
mike868y is offline  
Old 07-24-15, 11:31 AM
  #2270  
TheKillerPenguin
Nonsense
 
TheKillerPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Vagabond
Posts: 13,906

Bikes: Affirmative

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 873 Post(s)
Liked 523 Times in 226 Posts
Uses the same bearings as a bb30 with a much longer spindle.
TheKillerPenguin is offline  
Old 07-24-15, 07:44 PM
  #2271  
revchuck
OMC
 
revchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 6,960

Bikes: Specialized Allez Sprint, Look 585, Specialized Allez Comp Race

Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked 116 Times in 49 Posts
Anyone have any experience with Michelin Pro4 tubulars? I really like the Pro4 clinchers, wondering if the tubulars are similar.
revchuck is offline  
Old 07-25-15, 07:51 PM
  #2272  
hubcyclist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,160

Bikes: 2017 Raleigh RX 1.0, 2018 Specialized Allez

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked 585 Times in 308 Posts
I'm on a continued theoretical quest to pick a power meter, so if I got, say, a power2max classic fsa gossamer with the bsa bottom bracket, could I use my existing 130bcd 8 speed chainrings? I'm easily confused about this stuff, clearly! I was initially focused on powertap hubs but I'd hate to have to swap a trainer and road tire
hubcyclist is offline  
Old 07-25-15, 08:10 PM
  #2273  
grolby
Senior Member
 
grolby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BOSTON BABY
Posts: 9,761
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked 71 Times in 49 Posts
Originally Posted by Ygduf
someone just publish out the new e-wang chart.
East coast or West coast?
grolby is offline  
Old 07-25-15, 08:31 PM
  #2274  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by hubcyclist
I'm on a continued theoretical quest to pick a power meter, so if I got, say, a power2max classic fsa gossamer with the bsa bottom bracket, could I use my existing 130bcd 8 speed chainrings? I'm easily confused about this stuff, clearly! I was initially focused on powertap hubs but I'd hate to have to swap a trainer and road tire
Most crank power meters need to be calibrated with specific rings. I don't know about the P2M's requirements.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 07-26-15, 05:10 AM
  #2275  
hubcyclist
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,160

Bikes: 2017 Raleigh RX 1.0, 2018 Specialized Allez

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked 585 Times in 308 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd
Most crank power meters need to be calibrated with specific rings. I don't know about the P2M's requirements.
Interesting, thanks! The site says compatible with all 130bcd chainrings, but I always try to assume they are referring to 10-11 speed stuff
hubcyclist is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.