cyclezen
OM boy

Bikes: a bunch

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked 633 Times in 432 Posts
Originally Posted by dokie
im new to the sport (2nd week) and after doing my loop that i found i like (around 25 mi) my legs are a little tired but i feel like i could ride again... what do you guys think is it ok for me to keep riding.. or should i rest.. my knee was hurting after yesterdays ride
the mileage isn;t what gonna hurt you, its the gears.
Best thing on days when you physically feel OK overall, but the legs are sore, is to go out for a moderate to light ride, 1 hr is good, and stay in a gear where you're able to 'spin' easily. Resist the temptation to 'wind it up'. 'Active Recovery' is one of the best ways to ease your legs back to normal. Not riding usually causes a longer overall recovery time and extended period at which your legs feel 'powerless' and 'wooden'.
Before all this - being in 2nd week - MAKE SURE that you're reasonably close to a good 'position' for you, on the bike - called 'fit' by many. This is really important!
hurting knees could be lotz of things - position of body and feet, pushing big gears and a bunch of other things. But if you get put into a good base position and start your riding experience with reasonable gears and higher rpms, you'll eliminate a lot of causes of knee problems - not all - but a bunch.