View Single Post
Old 03-23-04, 07:27 PM
trekkie820

Bikes: 2004 Trek 4600 SS, 2016 Cannondale Cujo 2 SS

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Okay, just as the title says, i am going to open up to everyone and tell you about my life. Everyday, i wake up, and i do the same thing, i eat the same government bagel washed down with the gov't milk and coffee(state school). I get on my bike and ride it to and from class, which is usually a 2 way total of a mile, and i have three classes a day. Due to my long distance relationship, i have very little here to fill in the massive void that i feel when i am not with my girlfriend. Before, this void was just sitting there, unused, unfilled. This was last year, same time as now, when i was a freshman. At around this time, i weighed about a cool 270 pounds, and literally sat in my room on saturday nights and cried(yeah, yeah, shut up, men are sensitive too). At the end of the school year, i was 300 pounds(May 2003). I would be out of breath walking from my living room to the kitchen. Over this past summer, i worked with a guy who rides a mountain bike and races, and lost a lot of weight doing it. So, with a little bank account drainage, i bought my first real bike, my beloved Trek 820. Throughout the summer, i lost about 30-40 pounds, so i started school at about 260. During the summer, i was able to be with my girl, so my void was filled, and i was happy. Beginning this year, i had my crappy old bike to get to and from classes(i had to weld the cranks to the friggin BB spindle!). After that wore out, i paid about 20 bucks for a Roadmaster MTclimber, POS. I was starting to get sick of that, and the feeling of a void started to return(must be the spring semester...), so i poked around on my main web site, www.spokejunkies.com , and a guy on the site offered me my new love, my beloved single speed Concord road bike. So, with a little waiting around, and some elbow grease, i put it all t