Old 07-22-07, 01:48 PM
downtube

Bikes: Many Downtube Folders :)

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked 24 Times in 17 Posts
Originally Posted by jasong
But I do feel obligated to chime in with experiences when I see a bunch of posts about how great these bikes are, and to remind people that they need to inspect a few items quickly. Isn't this part of the "open source" philosophy of your company?
I did not know repeating onself over and over is called open source....please excuse my ignorance.

How did I imply I'm an expert? Why does one need to be an expert to show that something has been improperly fabricated? Certainly BF could fabricate something incorrectly. Or ABC company. Whether or not they'll stand behind that issue is relevant.
The point is everything is imperfect in some way. An expert would be able to judge QC #'s of one company vs another to decide which has more problems. Anyone can quote problems for any brand and repeat themselves....the relevant information is frequency of issues over time for each brand. I know our frequency is much lower than our competitors. Hence I am shocked that we are being referred to as "bad"....over and over and over.

Price isn't relevant; with a $30 frame I would have complained if I had noticed that a fundamental part of the bicycle couldn't be replaced with a standard component. A $200 bike that doesn't roll does noone good.
Actually price is relevant. People expect more QC and better tolerances from $2000 bikes vs $200. $2000 judgments belong with $2000 bikes not $200 bikes.