Old 06-21-09, 12:25 PM
Wogster

Bikes: Old Bike: 1975 Raleigh Delta, New Bike: 2004 Norco Bushpilot

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by pulawman
To start off, I know this is by no means a spectacular achievement for most, but to me it is my new record for riding. I rode 21.03 miles at around 13-15 mph avg this morning on my 09 DB Kalamar. This is the longest I've ever ridden. That puts me up to 60.5 miles for the week. I usually average 10 miles at around 10-12 mph.

I just started riding seriously approx three weeks ago when I picked up my Kalamar. I actually intended to only ride 10 miles today, but before I knew it I was at 15.6 miles and figured that I might as well see if I could go ahead to finish 20 miles without wearing myself out. By the end, prob the last 2 miles, my legs tiring out on me and I was dropping to around 11 mph.

All in all, it felt great to come home to the wife and say that I rode 21 miles. Considering two weeks ago riding 5 miles was taxing on the both of us.

My main goal atm to be able to put in 100 miles per week and drop down from my current 275-280 lb avg to 200 - 205 lbs. I never knew riding was so fun and addictive. I find myself browsing left and right at bike forums and manufacture websites. If I can get to the point where I can easily put down 100 miles a week on my DB hybrid then I plan on saving and buying myself a nice road bike.

Here's a recent pic of the wife and I on June 7th for our 1st yr anny.

I'm really looking forward to losing the gut and to have much better endurance and stamina in my everyday activities. I also live in the same great city as this forums own Tom Stormcrowe and look forward to riding with him and his wife once I get in better shape so I can keep up with him!