Old 07-14-09, 06:06 PM
Jabba Degrassi
FNG

Bikes: 2008 IRO Angus, 2008 Jamis Exile 29er

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I can't think of a better place to post some newbie questions. If this would be better directed somewhere else, please let me know.

A little background: I'm riding a 2008 Jamies Exile 29er SS, stock. I am a complete MTB newbie.

Now that we've got that out of the way. Little help?

I took my first real mountain ride this weekend, and it totally kicked my ass. My problems included:

1) Absolute terror. Taking tight turns on narrow tracks and seeing BIG drops to either side of me. I ended up walking a lot because I just wasn't sure I could navigate a particular section, and was pretty sure that if I failed to do so, I would go flying down a cliff. Even on fairly safe sections I got pretty scared. I remember one section in particular which took me downhill over a ton of roots, then across a narrow bridge, and a small climb afterwards. My friend eventually got me to do it, but it took a lot of cajoling, and even then I felt like I was barely in control.

2) Climbing. Maybe I'm just a weak little girl, but on a lot of uphills I would find myself pedaling as hard as I could, and at some point, I would just stop. I would lose all forward momentum, and tip over. Other times, I would start to wheelie involuntarily.