View Single Post
Old 08-10-09, 09:56 AM
Homeyba

Bikes: Colnago C-50, Calfee Dragonfly Tandem, Specialized Allez Pro, Peugeot Competition Light

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Old_Man
I'm a newbie in the same boat. 6'4" etc... Looking at a Giant Defy 1. Was fitted by a LBS(almost and hour) on the XL model. Fit was perfect. But, I wasn't comfortable with the proper "fit". Just couldn't get used to such an aero posture. However, after changing the stem out to a more upright one to my specs (can't remember what degree) the "fit" was much more comfortable and natural.

The LBS guy said as I ride more my personal "fit" will change. What's most important is not what the numbers are on some chart are.... but the message that your body is telling you.

BTW My research shows that for an entry road bike the Defy 1 with all 105s is a hard to beat.