Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

training

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-05, 08:25 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
okay. for any xc racers out there. i am not planning on racing this upcomming season becasue i am still new to this sport, but i would like to start training a little. and i would like to know how i should go about this, i just want a little taste of what this means. i can get around 2 ride in on weekdays and possibly another 2, always 1 on the weekends. i have been reading some of the training articles in MBA but find they dont give a clear enough explanation. i dont want to go into hardcore training, just some light stuff that will make me an all around better cross country rider.

*yea i know it is a little early*
Old 11-27-05, 08:41 PM

Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Quoted: 12206 Post(s)
Liked 1,501 Times in 1,111 Posts
Basic training is easy. One real hard ride a week. One medium ride at a steady pace (as much as possible). Then anything else is easy riding, as much as you want. Don't forget to stretch.

You may wind up wanting to learn about Zones and Lactate Threshold training all that stuff... But this will get you started.
Old 11-27-05, 08:43 PM
Old School Rad

Bikes: Blur LT

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just pile in lots of easy miles right now. Make you rides longer and don't push too hard right now.It's like putting gas in the tank.
Old 11-27-05, 10:17 PM
so cal rider

Bikes: '06 hardrock sport

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how long is a normal mtb race
Old 11-27-05, 11:44 PM
The Rabbi

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
The fastest people I know just ride, ride, ride. Whether its going to the store to get butter or a fast 4 lap group ride, they just keep riding.
Old 11-28-05, 04:34 AM