Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational)
Reload this Page >

New guy question - What is a good trail tire?

Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-08, 06:55 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I recently bought a cyclocross bike used and it is outfitted for the road with road tires and road pedals. I switched the pedals, but will mainly be using it for commute and some road training. However, I plan on taking it on trails as much as possible, kind of as a substitute for my long-lost mountain bike. I really plan on abusing it out on the trail.

My problem is that I'm new to self-maintenance and am trying to educate myself. As a result, I'm going to be walking into a bike shop and just asking someone who works there to pick out a tire for me. I just don't know enough terminology to research it myself. When I look online, I can choose between mountain or road, and I'm kind of at a loss.

So I thought, as a starting point to help me learn, why don't I just ask the experts.

What is a good, beefy-sized trail tire that I can fit onto my cross bike? It's an '05 Kona Jake although I don't know if that matters or not.

Oh, and right now I use Gommitalia Logo 700x32.

Thanks for any help!
Old 05-05-08, 07:51 AM
uberNEWB

Bikes: Haro V2 [rip / stolen], PEUGEOT '93 SELECT

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I went through a similar ordeal building up my bike trying to find info... Here's what I found out...