Go Back  Bike Forums > The Lounge > Blogger's Forum
Reload this Page >

Wahoo Kickr Bike Blog

Notices
Blogger's Forum Whether it's a cycling blog, or just your personal page, this is the place to share ideas and links.

Wahoo Kickr Bike Blog

Old 12-20-19, 11:53 AM
  #1  
Barry2 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 82

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 96 Cannondale F700CAD3, 2011 Cervelo R3, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Wahoo Kickr Bike Blog

This story starts in March 2019, I'm 55 6'1" and 226+lb then I went through a change in my medication. I'm now down to 195 and for the last couple of months attempting to be back on my road bike.
With too hot 95F+ weather quickly turning to rainy and cold, I've not been riding as much as I'd like, or need, in order to improve.
Despite my reservations I've broken down and purchased my first ever indoor trainer, I've never even ridden on one.

I like to post here, likely monthly, just to let people follow along with my expensive risk and I hope, improvement over time.

12/19/19 - First Day
Some assembly required... Only issue, the documented torque setting for the leg retaining bolts cause the head of the bolts to "round out" before the torque setting was reached. I'll contact Wahoo and report back.
(Wahoo support is shipping bolts same day I asked for them - Thanks James!)
Rode for 30mins, averaged ~110Watts @~12MPH. in Sim mode (Gears function as expected, you decide how much power to create and that controls your indicated speed).
Installed Zwift and rode for another 30mins. Wow this 30min went quick, much fun.
Zwift ran me in "ERG" mode. You pedal at what ever cadence you'd like (Gears do nothing) and the resistance is set by Zwift to meet the Wattage goal for that part of the ride.

I think I'm going to like this. I found that averaging 12MPH indoors is nothing like my usual 12MPH outdoors on the local trails. The outdoor trail crosses many roads causing me to take a break.
In fact looking at my Fitbit data, my trail rides only average 8MPH due to those breaks crossing streets. I really miss those breaks and my legs can tell they didn't get them!

12/21/19
Tried Zwift "Build me up" "Beginner" plan.
Was unable to produce the power required to complete day one of the plan.
I was able to produce the 135W for the time required, but not relatively. Legs gave out.
That plan is completely beyond my fitness level at this time.

Tried Zwift "Zwift 101" "Beginner" plan.
Still unable to produce the power required to meet the needs of day one on this "101 beginner" plan.
Again Legs gave out.

Now I'm upset and disheartened with Zwift & myself. Not the place you want to find yourself on the second day with an expensive bike.
I know I'm unfit, but being unable to meet the first day needs of the only two beginner plans in Zwift can't be good.

Loaded FulGaz and gave that a try.
Biked over the Golden Gate Bridge, no problem.
Tried the Marin Headlands.
Again legs gave out 1/3rd way through the headlands, but that had some steep climbs, and the views made it worth the try.

12/22/19
FulGaz again... Did two laps on the Dubai F1 racetrack. I didn't say I did them quick. But FulGaz didn't force me to hit a wattage number I couldn't produce and so, had much fun.
As my output dropped the video just played slower.

Next is to explore the Training Plans in FulGaz and see if they offer one starting at my wattage. Zwift, despite having the benefit of allowing me to bike with my UK buddy, has fallen from favor. Until I can repeatedly produce 135W for several min's with minimal recovery periods, I'll stick with the enjoyment of cruising around full HD (or 4K) videos in FulGaz.

Last edited by Barry2; 12-23-19 at 05:31 PM. Reason: Wahoo support response.
Barry2 is offline  
Old 12-20-19, 02:41 PM
  #2  
shelbyfv
Senior Member
 
shelbyfv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,006
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked 447 Times in 284 Posts
Good for you! Blogs need to go in the Blogger's forum https://www.bikeforums.net/blogger-s-forum/ You can ask a mod to move it for you I'll be interested to follow. Several friends have Kickrs and I've been pondering....

Last edited by shelbyfv; 12-20-19 at 02:47 PM.
shelbyfv is offline  
Old 12-20-19, 03:00 PM
  #3  
Barry2 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 82

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 96 Cannondale F700CAD3, 2011 Cervelo R3, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Blog'ish

That's funny...
I looked for an indoor cycling forum and found nothing so wound up in the 50+
I didn't think to look for a blog forum. In fact I've never seen or been in there.

With an approx once monthly post, maybe it's more interest to the 50+ community than a blog community.

Barry
Barry2 is offline  
Old 12-20-19, 05:21 PM
  #4  
texbiker
Senior Member
 
texbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kingwood, TX
Posts: 793

Bikes: Canyon Endurace CF SLX, Blue Norcorss AL,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Which Wahoo trainer did you get? I use the Kickr Snap with Zwift. You are right about the time passing. Before Zwift it was a miracle to ride 30 minutes. Now an hour goes quickly and sometimes I ride an hour 45 minutes.
texbiker is offline  
Likes For texbiker:
Old 12-20-19, 05:38 PM
  #5  
Barry2 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 82

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 96 Cannondale F700CAD3, 2011 Cervelo R3, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Originally Posted by texbiker View Post
Which Wahoo trainer did you get?
I got the “KICKR bike”

Barry
Barry2 is offline  
Old 12-29-19, 04:27 PM
  #6  
Shagybrown
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Curious if you are experiencing any thigh rub on the top tube of your Kickr bike?
Shagybrown is offline  
Old 12-29-19, 07:41 PM
  #7  
Barry2 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 82

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 96 Cannondale F700CAD3, 2011 Cervelo R3, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Clearance

SB,
Left leg runs clear. Right brushes very lightly but only when the leg is tired.
Best suggestion I saw was to tape card on your existing top tube to see if you clear.

The wider top tube is causing me no issues.

Barry
Barry2 is offline  
Old 01-02-20, 10:05 AM
  #8  
Barry2 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 82

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 96 Cannondale F700CAD3, 2011 Cervelo R3, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Untangle apps

1/02/2020
Had issues with all of my apps coordinating with each other. Saw duplicated cycling being reported in various levels of detail.
Previously I had been using only Fitbit to track exercise including my outdoor cycling.
I was hoping to be able to upload indoor cycling and continue to use Fitbit, but no luck.
I found that Fitbit will report walks to Strava using it to report cycling was a bit hot or miss. I found that both Fulgaz and Wahoo report indoor outdoor cycling very well to Strava.
So current setup
I subscribed to Strava. Fulgaz and Wahoo are used to report cycling, Fitbit is reporting walking.
Upon completion of an indoor or outdoor Cycle run, I go into Fitbit and report that period of elevated heart rate as exercise.
This allows my Fitbit to keep track of exercise goals for the week.
Not ideal, but it's working for me right now.

Strava has my money. Fulgaz will be getting my money. Zwift I have not returned to after my initial disappointment.

I estimate my current FTP at 100-110W and none of the training plans I've been able to find are targeted this low.
Even the available FTP testing routines do not appear to be achievable.

I've set myself a target of 50 miles a week (indoor/outdoor combined) I'll report back end of January.... Happy new year.

All the Best

Barry
Barry2 is offline  
Old 01-02-20, 06:29 PM
  #9  
CyclingFool95 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 208

Bikes: 1987 Pinarello Montello, 1995 Litespeed Classic, 1996 Colnago Master Light, 2006 Opera Leonardo FP, 2006 Pinarello Paris FP, 1984 Pinarello Record

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked 22 Times in 19 Posts
I've been running my Kickr/Climb with Bkool - I really enjoy riding real world routes, with video. Time does fly.
CyclingFool95 is offline  
Old 01-07-20, 06:03 PM
  #10  
Barry2 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 82

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 96 Cannondale F700CAD3, 2011 Cervelo R3, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Wahoo Kickr Bike Clicking

So the bike has been clicking from the time I took it out of the box.
I hate posting bad stuff until the manufacturer has had the opportunity to address an issue first.
Changed Pedals, tried one foot pedaling, it clicks when pedaled with left, right or both legs.

Opened Wahoo support ticket.
Sent video of bike clicking using a luggage scale to to show the 5 pounds of side force required to reproduce the click. I was not even on the bike.
Sounds like the Clicking is coming from where the "downtube" meets the Stand. The bearing that holds the whole thing up.
I'm told to purchase WD40 Silicone spray, not regular oldskool WD40 but the Silicone version.
I get some, sprayyyy and click, click, click. Issue still there. I ride hoping it will soak in... Click, Click, Click.
A day later DDDesperate to be able to bike not sounding like a metronome, I lay the bike on the left side and spray the left main bearing allowing gravity to pull the lube down towards the hidden left bearing.
Then I repeat for the right side. I ride for several mile, clicking all the way.
OK I'm officially miffed.
24 hours later..... no click. Wahoo support were correct in their fix. Time will tell if it returns.


During this process James with Wahoo support was helpful and responsive so I'm happy with the level of service.
Even if I don't like having to "oil" a bike I just received, but the fix was quick and easy.

Fingers crossed

Barry

Last edited by Barry2; 01-08-20 at 05:41 PM.
Barry2 is offline  
Old 01-08-20, 09:51 AM
  #11  
texbiker
Senior Member
 
texbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kingwood, TX
Posts: 793

Bikes: Canyon Endurace CF SLX, Blue Norcorss AL,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I hope the WD40 silicon fixed the problem but my experience with clicking from the bottom bracket is a bad bearing.
texbiker is offline  
Old 01-08-20, 05:45 PM
  #12  
Barry2 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 82

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 96 Cannondale F700CAD3, 2011 Cervelo R3, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Originally Posted by texbiker View Post
I hope the WD40 silicon fixed the problem but my experience with clicking from the bottom bracket is a bad bearing.
Sorry I was not clear. I added a line in the above post to better describe where the click was coming from.

In order to get the thing to click, I didn't have to rotate the crank, in fact I didn't even have to be on the bike.
Stand beside bike, grasp frame, pull to left or right with 5 pounds of force and it would click. Sounding like is was coming from the Frame to Stand main joint.
All through this process the BB has been completely silent.

Barry
Barry2 is offline  
Old 01-08-20, 05:55 PM
  #13  
zacster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 6,503
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 86 Times in 70 Posts
That could just be the quick release or through axle not being tight enough. It doesn't sound serious.
zacster is offline  
Old 01-08-20, 06:09 PM
  #14  
Barry2 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 82

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 96 Cannondale F700CAD3, 2011 Cervelo R3, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Please point to where the axle quick release is located.

8-)

Barry

Barry2 is offline  
Old 01-08-20, 09:19 PM
  #15  
zacster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 6,503
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 86 Times in 70 Posts
Oh right, this is the Kickr bike, not the Kickr.
zacster is offline  
Old 01-13-20, 09:48 PM
  #16  
Barry2 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 82

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 96 Cannondale F700CAD3, 2011 Cervelo R3, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
More Wahoo kool-Aid

Added a Wahoo Elemnt Bolt.
Bolt initial setup was pretty quick. It immediately wanted to load an update.
Tried to pair it to the Wahoo Kickr Bike and it found it, but stopped FulGaz from connecting.
Bolt has a screen specifically to control a Kickr.... could not get to that screen.
I don’t know how, why or what I did.... oh here comes another update.

Now the Kickr Bike connects to the Bolt as “FE” and not as “Kickr Bike”.
FulGaz is now able to see the Bike again.
Bolt automagically goes to the Kickr Control screen.

After all the goofing around with the Bolt/Bike, I powered off the Bolt and went for a FulGaz ride.
I’ll spend more time with the Kickr control screens and report back at a later time.

FYI I intend to use the Bolt on my road bike. Apparently I don’t need add-on sensors. Speed will come from GPS in the Bolt and Cadence will come from the Tickr X HRM.
[See comment in post below from zacster regarding speed sensor accuracy]

All the best

Barry

Last edited by Barry2; 01-14-20 at 09:51 AM. Reason: Speed Sensor
Barry2 is offline  
Old 01-14-20, 08:18 AM
  #17  
zacster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 6,503
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 86 Times in 70 Posts
GPS speed isn't as real-time as sensor speed. It'll work, but just doesn't respond as fast nor is it as accurate. It tends to jump around a bit. I have a sensor on my road bike but use the bolt without a sensor on my commuter so I have a good feel for how it responds. When you have the sensor set up so it automatically calibrates it is very accurate too. It just measures rotations vs. some fixed GPS distance and sets it. I don't know if it monitors it during a ride. With the sensor calibrated against GPS your total miles comes out the same either way.

But to your other point, I don't bother with the Bolt when I'm using my Kickr Core trainer. I also get confused about how the Bolt is supposed to work with the Kickr and in the end the software on my iMac is controlling everything anyway.

Last edited by zacster; 01-14-20 at 08:42 AM.
zacster is offline  
Likes For zacster:
Old 01-14-20, 09:56 AM
  #18  
Barry2 
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 82

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 96 Cannondale F700CAD3, 2011 Cervelo R3, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Bolt Speed Sensor

Zacster,
Well there is news I can use, thanks. I'll may have to save my pennies for yet more Wahoo Kool-Aid and buy the sensors.
I'll run the Road bike this weekend sensorless (I don't think that's a reeel word) and see what happens.

All the best

Barry
Barry2 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.