Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Thread size of Sachs/SRAM indicator chain?

Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Thread size of Sachs/SRAM indicator chain?

Old 06-07-22, 10:31 AM
  #1  
Harhir
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Harhir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 601

Bikes: Fahrradmanufaktur Trekking Bike, 2 x Lightning Phantom, bikeE and bikeE2, Cycle Genius Raven

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked 98 Times in 54 Posts
Thread size of Sachs/SRAM indicator chain?

I am trying to find out the thread size diameter of the indicators chains for the old Sachs/SRAM 3 speed internal hubs. I am talking about the thread which goes into the sliding key inside the hub. According to my thread gauge it is larger than 2mm and smaller than 2.5mm. I assume it is either a 2.2mm 0.45 pitch or a 2.3mm 0.45 pitch. However I cannot find any thread gauges to buy for these two thread sizes to verify. Thanks

Last edited by Harhir; 06-07-22 at 10:56 AM.
Harhir is offline  
Old 06-07-22, 10:39 AM
  #2  
Velo Mule
Senior Member
 
Velo Mule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,632

Bikes: Trek 800 x 2, Schwinn Heavy Duti, Schwinn Traveler, Schwinn Le Tour Luxe, Schwinn Continental, Cannondale M400 and Lambert

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 589 Post(s)
Liked 577 Times in 415 Posts
I am not familiar with Sram three speed hubs. I am wondering if the thread size is the same as Sturmey Archer. It looks similar.
Velo Mule is offline  
Old 06-07-22, 10:55 AM
  #3  
Harhir
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Harhir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 601

Bikes: Fahrradmanufaktur Trekking Bike, 2 x Lightning Phantom, bikeE and bikeE2, Cycle Genius Raven

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked 98 Times in 54 Posts
From what I could find online is that the Sturmey Archer uses a different thread. They are not compatible with the Sachs hubs.
Harhir is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.