![]() |
We see these folks frequently enough, and we talk about them all the time - its about time that we have a specific thread about Numbskull sellers. That said:
Post your Craigslist, Ebay, or other websites displaying hilariously clueless vintage bicycle sellers. The wackier the better. Preferably relating to Classic & Vintage bicycles, but open to anything if the "Numbskullery is right". Sellers with attitude problems also belong here. I'll start off with today's find from the Miami, Florida Craigslist: "1954 Western Flyer Bicycle" - only $2000. http://miami.craigslist.org/bik/75801892.html And if you visit his immediate second post, you'll see that the bike has become two years younger: http://miami.craigslist.org/bik/75803731.html No pictures, no nothing. Just a red-and-white Western Flyer for $2000. Anyone game? :rolleyes: ;) Post on! -Kurt |
|
Looks like a Huffy!
|
I don't know enough about old Terry bikes to know if this guy is a numbskull or not, but it does strike me as odd that with all this wacky information he doesn't mention the age of the bike. A Tour de France ride? Really? "In excess of $476?" "Not for beginners?"
He is also charging nearly $100 for standard UPS shipping when you include the cost of the shipping box. |
Yeah - charging $13.00 for a used box is a bit over the top IMO.
|
I coulsn't stand it, so I had to email him, lol. He'll probably come back cussing a blue streak. Don't bid if you're not giving him $13 for a free box? Give me a break!!
"Let me get this straight? You're charging people $13 for a used bike box you got for free? Jeez what is the world coming to? Also the UPS store and similar stores do not pack bikes professionally. They wrap them in plastic and throw them in a box with no padding. I know because I got charged the 25 extra dollars for the same treatment recently. The only way to pack something professionally anymore, is to do it yourself. Of course that's assuming you know what you're doing. Have a good one. BTW: who rode it in the TDF, and what year?" |
you must post the response email, even if it's a long string of #@$% with some puncuation thrown in.
|
and what, exactly, does he mean by "computerized design..."**********
THE TIRES WHICH ARE TURBO SPECIALIZED, MEASURE A STURDY AND VERY FAST 26 X 700C. THE CHROMO FRAME ,WEIGHING IN WITH RIMS AND TIRES AT A MERE 23LBS, MAKES THIS UNIT VERY COMPETITIVE. gotta love it... |
Yes, now we know for sure he's a jackass, lol.
ear moron, i professionally pack it in my bike shop, how long have you known anything about bikes u little twirp. I also pay for my boxes, now drop dead, we dont take food stamps either, welfare case. |
Originally Posted by Bikedued
Yes, now we know for sure he's a jackass, lol.
ear moron, i professionally pack it in my bike shop, how long have you known anything about bikes u little twirp. I also pay for my boxes, now drop dead, we dont take food stamps either, welfare case. One might be when did a woman ride the TdF. According to Sheldon's site, Georgena Terry bikes are designed for women. LOL...the racing model is called Fast Woman. Edit...looks like the seller backed off his Tour de France claim. I don't see it any more. |
My latest e-mail to him.
Why do you need to buy your boxes, if you have a bike shop? Who said I was a welfare case? I believe you're the moron for even bringing up my income, which is none of your business anyway? ANY bike shop will give boxes away free, rather than cut them up, or fill their dumpster. He writes back...... "speeking of dumpsters dirtbag, isnt it time for your poorboy supper? or is it texas cow DUNG TONIGHT, TAKE A HIKE, YOUR BLOCKED, HICK!!!!!!!! My response? "Wow, you're intelligent huh?" |
He took out the TdF claim.
his response to one of his negative feedbacks was, AUTHENTICITY, WAS WRITTEN AS PLAIN AS DAY ON BROCHURE,HAVE PROOF, FRENCH LIER!!! "french lier..." charming. |
I like this one too, lol. Describes him to a T,,,,BD
Negative feedback rating TERRIBLE EBAY SELLER. SENT FILTHY EMAIL FOR NO REASON, COMPLETELY IGNORANT!!!!! |
this is fun. here's my email to him:
Yeah Hi, I just have a couple questions for you - nice bike, by the way. 1) what size is the frame, c-c 2) what type of steel is the frame made of i.e. 4130, Reynolds 501, etc. 3) How can you honestly claim that a 23-lb. steel bike is competitive? What do you by competitive? 4) What do you mean by computer designed system? 5) Why are you charging 13$ for a bike box you can get for free at any bike store? thanks for your response... edit: now we're going back and forth. he's been pleasant but shady so far. |
http://cgi.ebay.com/ITALIAN-CHROME-F...QQcmdZViewItem
Offered for sale is a lovely 54cm ctc Blue? track frame. It has a 54cm ctc top tube. The frame is made out of responsive construction with hand brazed lugs. No reserve And check out his other auctions 'for a rare vintage parts!!' -Kurt |
I couldn't access the auction, but I'd be happy to work over the fool myself.
|
after my constant badgering, texas cow dung articulately clarified his "computerized design" claim:
THIS UNITS DRIVE SYSTEM ,AT TIME OF MANUFACTURING WAS LABELED FOR IT COMPUTERIZED DESIGN DRIVE SYSTEM , I DO BELIEVE WHAT THEY MEAN IS IT IS VERY IN SYNC, MEANING DRIVE TRAIN, WHICH AT THAT TIME SHIMANOS 105 COMPONENTS, WERE JUST THAT, SYNCRONIZED, thanks for clearing that up... it is tange 1 though (or so he claims) |
He never spoke to me again, after the intelligence comment. I think he stole this bike honestly, lol. Check this line out!?
THE PERSON NOW SELLING THIS UNIT MUST PART WITH IT FOR UNDISCLOSED REASONS. It could be a really good reason, that he/she doesn't know where it is, lol!!,,,,BD |
He's back again, lol! Mr no down tube lowrider.,,,,BD
http://houston.craigslist.org/bik/212244530.html |
Wish I had the cash for this one. Not sure if it's really worth it, but I wish I had the money either way, lol.,,,,BD
http://houston.craigslist.org/bik/212643893.html |
dishonest eBayer? What can be done?
Sorry if this is a bit off topic here, but I'm thinking this just may cheese other people off as much as it does me. I am browsing MTBs on eBay and come across this: Specialized Stumpjumper Comp M-4 HardTail Item number: 180031978750 . Very nice looking bike, clean etc. After doing a little research, I discover that it's a 2001, not a 2003! One year can possibly be a mistake, if you bought last year's model new, but not 2 years. It makes a huge difference. So I e-mailed the guy and somewhat politely ask him why the bike is listed as a 2003. Of course I get no response. So I reported it to eBay as a fraudulent auction, but it's still running so I'm thinking they're probably not going to pull it (it's been two days now). It just pisses me ioff to know that someone is going to pay good money for what they believe to be a 3year old bike that is actually 5 years old and probably ridden much more than claimed. Now that I wrote all this, I'm sure there isn't much that can be done. I wish I could e-mail the other bidders, but I know that's a big no-no.
Peace. |
|
HAHAHA. i literally laughed out loud at that one. He truly is a numbskull, eh?,,,,BD
|
Syke Deranged Few M/C |
Originally Posted by sykerocker
Oh my freaking ghod!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I nominate this guy as Numbskull of the Year, 2006 - and I don't care that there's still 90+ days left for further nominations. Nobody, but nobody, can be as dumb as this guy.
Syke Deranged Few M/C |
| All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 PM. |
Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.