Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Hills - Building Strength & Stamina

Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 09-03-15, 01:56 AM
fthomas
Fred E Fenders

Bikes: Jamis Aurora Elite

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Where I live is nothing but hills. I read a thread yesterday about how hilly it is where others live

Since I am just getting started on a new bike I have been making 5 to 10 mile rides and the majority is in the bike lane on long sustained hills on major feeder streets where traffic speeds are 45 to 50 mph.

Today I left early and made it from where I live to the Alicia Creek bike trail, which I took north and connected to a major thoroughfare connecting with another major thoroughfare for the last leg home. I would have taken another route that would have shaved off about 30 minutes, but the connecting trail - Cabot to Forbes Path for those familiar with Laguna Niguel, but it is closed during construction of the Oso Creek Trail.

Today turned into a 6 hour grueling ride. I would pedal the hills until my legs were screaming - rest - repeat. That was how the last part of my 20 mile ride went. In order to make the last one mile leg home it took me through a major intersection with on and off ramps to Interstate 5 and no bicycle lanes at the beginning of rush hour. Traffic was intense! Out of an abundance of caution I walked the sidewalk across the Interstate.

Does my method to improve my climbing make sense? Is there a better way? The majority of the hills are about 200' + per mile. I am not sore and my legs were giving out long before I was winded. I was in no hurry and wanted to make the hills if even just a peice at a time.