Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   What a great 1st ride today after my first fall (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/1068189-what-great-1st-ride-today-after-my-first-fall.html)

pat0115 06-13-16 08:04 PM

What a great 1st ride today after my first fall

Last Tuesday I had my first hard fall from my bike because of a front tire blowout, and fell hard on my left shoulder, elbow hip, knee and shin. No broken bones but a lot of blood and road rash. I was pretty nervous about my first ride after the blowout since I was going pretty fast when I fell. So I told myself that I would take it easy today, ride just 10-15 miles instead of my normal 30-35 miles. I decided to ride in a more scenic area, down by the beach. I left my headphones off so I could hear the sounds of the peaceful morning, since I started riding at 6:30am. Let me tell you, it had to be the most satisfying ride I have had in quite some time. In the past I would try to ride as fast as I could to get the 30-35 miles in in about 2 hours. I wouldn't even stop for a few minutes to go onto the boardwalk to see the water, because that would slow me down. Today, I rode slow (averaged between 11 and 12 miles per hour), said hi to hello riders and joggers/walkers,, headed up onto the boardwalk a few times, rode down a fishing pier I hadn't rode on since I first started riding, and even ventured onto some paths and roads I hadn't been on before just because. Before I knew it, I wasn't thinking about another blowout, another fall off the bike, I was just enjoying the ride, which turned out to be about 21 miles. Had so much fun, I think I'll do it again the exact same way tomorrow. Thanks for listening!

jon c. 06-13-16 08:15 PM