Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Finally tried the "other guy".

Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 02-26-17, 03:54 PM
oldnslow2

Bikes: Trek Emonda SLR, Sram eTap, Zipp 303

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1005 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 10 Posts

Not looking to start another Shimano vs Sram debate.

I've been riding Sram since 2011 when I got back into cycling. I did borrow a bike with 105 on it for a group ride where my son went to college. This past Wednesday, i was in Scottsdale, Az. and rented a bike very similar to mine, the major difference was Shimano Ultegra mechanical.

I have a Emonda SLR with Sram Red (mechanical for 2015 and eTap for 2016). The rental was a Emonda SL6 with Ultegra.

The drivetrain was really nice, but the shifters bothered me. I really disliked having to move the brake lever sideways to change gears and the other shifter was a bit hard to find and vague. I also disliked the gap in the hoods where the little shifter needs to move.

I know it's all about personal preference and what you are used to.

Another issue I had with the bike was the saddle. Mine has a Bontrager Paradigm RXXXL while the rental has a Paradigm Race. The rental was way too soft and started to bother me. I also have a Paradigm RL and have no problem with it.

I guess it's all about what your used to and riding another bike can be eye opening.
Old 02-26-17, 07:38 PM
Wileyrat

Bikes: 2015 Ridley Fenix, 1983 Team Fuji, 1985 Novara Strada, 2013 BD Motobecane 650ht, 90 Trek 850

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
When I bought my Ridley Fenix, I test rode one with 105. As I was moving from a vintage with downtube shifting, I didn't like brake lever shifting either.

I ended up with sram force 22, mostly for having a dedicated shift lever.