Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

50+ cross training

Old 08-02-17, 10:14 AM
wphamilton

Bikes: Nashbar Road

Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1785 Post(s)
50+ cross training

More precisely, running. I thought I'd ask here since there are considerations for 50+ folks and I know some of you are serious runners.

Goal is: I want to run 5K, and targeting 8 minute pace. I know, that's not fast but it's my target.

History: two years ago I registered for a 5K event, got about 5 training runs in before breaking a collarbone bicycling, which discouraged me from further workouts. I ended up with 30.something on the run, just happy to run it. Last year I started training again, ignored something I shouldn't have and had a bad sprained ankle. That run hurt even more and was even slower. That's basically it all the way back to track in high school where I was a half-miler.

I'm in pretty good cycling shape, although my anaerobic threshold pace is poor both cycling and running. But that's a kind of imbalance where I could go for a run tonight and easily push myself to an injury. So I've been limiting distance and pace both, stopping when I feel any danger and with extra recovery days. So I'm winding up with only 9-12 miles per week so far, mostly at 9-10 minutes pace. My 5K is fairly easy at that speed, without any pains.

So the questions. I've started alternating my target 8 minute pace with a slower jog to catch my breath, on the theory that if I want to run that fast, I have to run that pace. One day it's alternating 400 meters with 400 jogging for 3 miles, then another day it's 800 meters. Does that make sense, or would it be quicker, or safer, to just run until I'm done at the target pace and try to increase that?