Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Been riding 40+ years - Just got a Brompton 12-speed

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 06-01-24, 07:04 PM

Liked 23 Times in 8 Posts

Hi - Just joined this forum.

I've been riding most every day for about 40 years now (not counting my teenage years). I turn 70 later this year. I keep rough track of the miles. Roughly, it's around 170,000 miles so far. Another way to say it is more than six times around the equator. The moon is around 220,000. I don't know if I will get to that number or not - but I am not going to quit trying!

A few days ago i ordered a Brompton 12-speed. Got it two days ago, and I have ridden it about 30 miles in the last two days. I really like it! I was afraid I would not like the "trigger shifters" but I was wrong. Paddle shifters tend to make my wrists ache, but the Brompton trigger shifters are feather light and need very little travel distance, so no problem there.

I like the 12-speed's low gears - good for steeper hills.

I will still use my Specialized (with grip shifters) each morning to keep fit, and then for fun rides it will be the Brompton.

Keep on riding!
Steve Capps - USA.
Old 06-01-24, 08:07 PM

Liked 5,523 Times in 3,407 Posts
Great effort! What attracted you to buying a Brompton? Did you specifically need a folding bike or just liked the style?

Welcome to the forum too!
Old 06-01-24, 08:45 PM
Veteran, Pacifist

Bikes: Bikes??? Thought this was social media?!?

Liked 5,186 Times in 2,356 Posts
Like this?

Welcome [MENTION=578861]SteveCapps[/MENTION]. .

Last edited by Wildwood; 06-01-24 at 08:52 PM.
Old 06-01-24, 08:59 PM