Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Satisfaction...is it possible?

Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 07-24-06, 08:32 PM
dauphin

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Three months ago words like sora, tiagra, 105, ultegra, and dura-ace....meant nothing to me. Campy? Wasn't he a famous baseball player? Geometry? I barely passed that in the ninth grade. Ok, so I'm still not an expert, but I have learned which things are more expensive... As I was sitting here wondering what kind of bike I want and can afford, I thought about the dream scenario of picking any bike regardless of expense. If money were no object, would you be happy with your current bike? Would 105 suddenly give way to Ultegra and then Dura-Ace? Would having the world's most expensive bike be down the road for you? What if you came into a huge sum of money and you already owned a bike that you thought was "perfect" for you?
Old 07-24-06, 09:00 PM
CrossChain

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dauphin.....some cyclists become so enamored of the tech/equipment side of riding that they somehow equate status of gear with personal skill and worthiness. It's up to each of us to find a balance that works for us. Miles in the legs make us worthy, and you can't order those from Colorado Cyclist.

Gotta have DuraAce/Record. Maybe. When I first started riding, local riders were doing amazing feats of riding skill that would awe people today using gear that, while it may have been good then, would go on a $300 dollar bike today. People climbed and descended the same mountains (which haven't changed) at the same speeds with 5 speed freewheels and Nuovo Record (go look 'em up) friction shifters and weirdly configured derailleurs where you had to "overshift" and then pull it back quick.