Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   New rider seeking wisdom (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/216951-new-rider-seeking-wisdom.html)

Hask12 08-06-06 05:00 AM

New rider seeking wisdom

My statistics are as follows. Male 54 175lbs. 5'9"
I started riding on a steaty basis about 6 weeks ago. At this stage I am doing 6 miles in the AM. in about 30 minutes. I will do another 4 miles in the afternoon at a little more leasurely pace. My heart rate after the 6 mile run is about 110-115/min, but comes down fairly quickly. A little winded but not much. All riding now takes place on the streets mostly neighborhood street some mild uphill and downhill runs, but mostly flat.
I am riding a Schwinn hybrid that I've had for about 7 years, which works fine for now. I don't want to make any major investment right now until I know better where I stand with all of this. I have invested in a new saddle since the original saddle isn't cutting it as the number of miles begins to increase. I may also invest in shorts but that will probably be it for now, until spring.
Am I making sufficient progress at this point or am I overdoing it at this early a stage. My goals are to increase my stamina, help reduce my blood pressure a bit and to maybe lose some weight.
What does everyone do in the winter as far as riding is concerned. Do they put their bikes up on a stand and ride it indoors or invest in a stationary bike. Bike riding outdoors just doesn't happen in N.E. Ohio. Ever hear of Lake Effect Snow?

Grampy™ 08-06-06 05:15 AM

Originally Posted by Hask12
What does everyone do in the winter as far as riding is concerned. Do they put their bikes up on a stand and ride it indoors or invest in a stationary bike. Bike riding outdoors just doesn't happen in N.E. Ohio. Ever hear of Lake Effect Snow?